Required Reading

This should be required reading for anyone going through a divorce with kids involved…or hell, for everyone who knows a divorced dad, or has tried to understand the unrelenting bias against fathers in our society, or anyone who simply likes to have their minds pried open to discover a new way of viewing things:

**Disenfranchising, Demeaning, and Demoralizing Divorced Dads: A Review of the Literature, by Dr. Linda Nielsen

Examining why you believe what you do is crucial, assuming you desire growth as a person, and that you value maturity and insight. Unfortunately I know far too many people that adamantly do not. They stomp their childish feet and dig further into their rigid, selfish mindset, plaster their hands over their ears, and moo “I can’t hear you, I can’t hear you” at any challenge to their self-serving, morally-bankrupt blather. I am hard pressed to conjure up anything more pathetic, or more prone to elicit contempt and loathing, than a person who can stare facts in the face and still yammer the same rapacious chant: me, me, me, me.

Doesn’t that relentless cawing ever get old?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Required Reading

  1. Stephanie says:

    Contempt and loathing is definitely my response to the person who can stare facts in the face and still yammer that chant. It drives me crazy!Great article. It absolutely should be required reading. Thanks for posting it.

  2. Lady M says:

    You would think the fact that someone is hurting her KIDS is one fact a mother could not stare down and still continue to behave like a jackass, but behold, I am witnessing it first hand, and unfortunately, from other blogs and comments I’ve read, so are far too many others. Proof positive that women are not naturally the more nurturant sex; only the best of us are, and giving birth is not a deciding factor. I like that article too, but much of the research I’m doing just scares me even more what is going to happen to the kids.

  3. Stephanie says:

    I agree completely. I did a post awhile back called “May I See Your License, Please?” (or something along those lines) about how many different folks have to be licenses, but anyone on the earth with the appropriate plumbing (in functional order) can have a child. It’s appalling. It is definitely scary to think about what will happen to those little lives that will be so scarred from all of the acrimony. That’s why therapy is such a great thing. I can honestly say that this past 10 months of therapy with the kids has done more for our family than any other single thing we’ve done in 7 years of being together.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

