Friday

I hit the door running when I got home from work last night, cleaning, quick trip to Walmart, everything settled so I could enjoy the Lightning vs. Hurricanes game. I’m glad I did; the game was exciting, my team finally played well, and Holmqvist (the goalie) was on fire. He made several saves that surprised everyone, and one Hurricane player was even celebrating his goal before he realized Homqvist actually stopped the puck from going in. His best save was after he tripped behind the net, and a Hurricane player lined up to take a shot at the empty net. I don’t know how he moved so fast, loaded down in all that padding and equipment, but he stopped that shot somehow, and the Lightning won 5-1. I terrified my cat, who was curled up on my lap enjoying a nap, unsuspecting of the great save that would elicit a loud cheer and interrupt his sleep. Sorry, Tweetie…I won’t let it happen again. And likely it won’t, because my team rarely plays that well!

So, resilient as roaches, my stalkers are baaaaaaaack….do exorcisms work on hyper-obsessed miscreants who are in dire need of hobbies that don’t involve searching my name, usernames, or variants of either on Google? Maybe I should be flattered, as clearly I’m irresistable, exuding magnetic charm through my very pores. The novelty of hunting me online simply never quits! Or….maybe cyberstalking reflects more upon the stalker than the stalkee, and more than the simple fact that these individuals have far too much free time.

But it’s Friday, it’s beautifully chilly outside, the kids are coming this evening, and I’m looking forward to the weekend. I need to do some reverse gardening; the cold nights weren’t friendly to my coleus or periwinkle, so those need to come out. Most of the potted plants from outside are having a slumber party in one of the bedrooms, with the door shut so the cats (a.k.a, the lawnmowers) can’t help themselves to a salad.

I might stay up late tonight and do some writing. There’s a lot on my mind today. It’s funny, some people think dumping more and more of their shit on you will eventually crack you, but sometimes the opposite happens; sometimes it bolsters a person’s will and resolve, makes their heart expand to hold more courage, and clarifies….crystal clear…what the right thing to do is.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday

  1. Stephanie says:

    Eloquently stated – “some people think dumping more and more of their shit on you will eventually crack you, but sometimes the opposite happens; sometimes it bolsters a person’s will and resolve, makes their heart expand to hold more courage, and clarifies….crystal clear…what the right thing to do is.”I agree. The crazier it gets around here the more I am resolved to see the whole thing through, to do the best I can for my husband and the children that I love, even if they don’t all biologically belong to me.I like your style. Welcome to the blogosphere.

  2. Ash says:

    Hey Lady M… hope you had a good weekend with your kids. Take good care of yourself. I hope your stalker and her family finds a new hobby! PS: Cross stitch for Christmas sounds like a good idea! 😛

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

