Thinking

The end of another too-short weekend…we had a good time, cramming the fair, roller coasters, bike rides, playing, running races, reading out loud, practicing math by opening our pretend toy store and shopping with play money, wrestling, and of course snuggling, into a tiny window of time. For all the lies and accusations hurled our way, the sole cruel act we perform is taking them back. Maybe someday everyone else will realize there is a better, saner way to do this, a way that doesn’t grind the kids in the gears and spit them out as barely recognizable shadows of what they used to be. Could be. Should be.

When I opened my car door this morning, there was a set of toy binoculars on the gear shift. I laughed because they were left there after the kids took turns pretending to drive my car, and also because my car, my tiny “I-bought-this-when-I-never-expected-to-have-kids-in-my-life” car, has been initiated into the world of toys left on the seat, and soon of drinks spilled on the upholstery and mystery matter on the floor…

The Lightning played over the weekend and surprisingly beat the Washington Capitals 5-2. Now that they’ve revived from their coma and remembered how the game of hockey is played, I hope they keep the momentum going. Their next 2 games are against teams they’ve already recently defeated, so it’s not impossible.

And here I am at work, my mind turning things over and over, unable to let go of the maddeningly rational concept that there is a better way to do things, a lot of things, and unable to churn up one good reason for resistance to that fact.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thinking

  1. Stephanie says:

    I am in total agreement with you on that sole cruel act. It’s heart-wrenching, isn’t it? Someday there will be change in the system, but only if people like you and me make it so. Don’t let go of the pain of that feeling. Turn it into action… if not for your precious stepchildren (only because the wheels of change take so very long), then for someone else’s in the future.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

