My Saturday

Ahhhh, Saturday. Courtesy of a double dose of Nyquil, I slept more soundly last night than I have all week, and I woke up to a Get Well helium balloon from Gary tied to a basket with plants in it, so all in all, it was a very nice day before I even got out of bed.

I fell into my Nyquil coma too early to catch the hockey game last night, but the Lightning won again, beating the Hurricanes 5-2, bringing their winning streak to 5 consecutive games! Another Stanley Cup year? Hey, a woman can dream. They play Atlanta on Monday, and c’mon, that should be an easy game to win.

I enjoyed a fairly lazy day today, still shaking a cough, but I will get into high gear tomorrow to make up for it. I need to clean, and not just any cleaning. We’re talking vacuuming the baseboards, using a toothbrush to scrub the corners of the floors, and spit-shining every surface. Next week I’ll have a full house, and no matter who is coming over, I feel the need to clean the house before someone arrives. Even if it didn’t need it. Call me anal (I call it detail-oriented, since that sounds nicer), but at least the house is always clean.

Usually by this time of year, I have all my Christmas shopping done, and gift-wrapped and waiting for the big day. My hold-up this year is my mother, a.k.a. The Hardest Person on the Planet to Shop For. It doesn’t help we have radically different personalities, although I’m tempted to use the mantra “If I absolutely hate it, won’t she totally love it?” as I shop. The only presents I recall her seeming to genuinely like were a gold heart necklace with all the kids’ birthstones on it, and a calendar I made and personalized with pictures of the family and everyone’s birthdays and anniveraries already printed on the special day. I’m at a loss for this year though. I suspect she will be the disappointed recipient of a gift card if I can’t conjure up something better soon.

In other totally random news….I had to break down and trim back the flowers today. Frost-ravaged black leaves don’t make a very attractive garden. An ant bit me on the hand while I was trimming the flowers. Ah, add it to the 50 other ant bites still healing on various parts of my body. I am like nectar from heaven to ants, apparently; I have to wear full-body armor in the yard to avoid their bites.

Another wonderfully chilly night, and I think I will make some chicken noodle soup, wrap up in a blanket, and curl up with Gary until I get sleepy. I want to get up early to get everything done. Why are the weekends so damn short?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

