Calm before the storm

The hockey game last night was almost too painful to talk about…after a ho-hum first period during which I actually started flipping through a book to stay awake, the Lightning rejuvenated in a two-goal second period, then crashed and burned in the third, racking up penalties until they served up a 5-on-3 power play to the Thrashers. The Lightning tossed away their 2-point lead by essentially being careless and stupid. In overtime, they practically rolled out a red carpet straight up to the goal and graciously let the Thrashers score the winning point. It’s one thing if the opposing team wins because they are more skilled and played better; it’s another thing altogether if they win because your team screwed up, messed up, and fumbled their way through a game like they never saw a damn hockey puck before.

*crossed arms, tapping foot, petulant glower*

Ah, well….after work today I am picking up my mom from the airport. She’s staying (gulp) almost a week. We have so little in common, I get nervous about what to talk about, what to do, how to possibly keep her entertained all that time and maintain my sanity. I still believe I was switched at birth, because it’s unfathomable that two people so completely different share even a single strand of DNA. Case in point: she does not like hockey. She has promised (threatened) to bring lots of pictures to show the kids, and to share stories with them about me when I was little, but I don’t know what she plans to conjure up, considering I was a sweet, innocent, cherubic angel as a child. (Yes, I was. Anyone who remembers different is simply confusing me with one of my brothers!)

It will be an interesting holiday, a house full of people, more guests coming by on Thanksgiving Day. An interesting combination for someone who likes quiet and solitude, but I actually am looking forward to it.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Atlanta Thrashers, hockey, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calm before the storm

  1. Ash says:

    Hey Lady M… have a good Thanksgiving. Hope you had a good time and don’t tire yourself out too much! 🙂

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    I wasn’t very tired at all, considering Gary did all the cooking and kept chasing me out of the kitchen!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

