Tag, I’m it again!

I love chilly mornings. Except the excruciating part that consists of unwrapping the warm, comfy covers to slide out into a bitingly cold room, knowing I am enduring the agony of non-cuddling just so I can spend another 8 hours working with intellectually-challenged dolts who I barely endured for 8 hours yesterday, or the day before, but I try to push that from my shivering mind or else I’d call in dead and go back to sleep…yes, besides that, I love chilly mornings!

Yesterday I was “tagged” again by Ash to answer 10 trivia questions, so here are my responses:

1. What’s always in your fridge?
A lot of empty space…I strongly dislike grocery shopping, and I will wait until there is nothing on which to sustain ourselves except stale bread, water, and cat treats before I reluctantly trek to the grocery store.

2. Lecturers make the best…
Ummm…meatloaf? Not sure that’s a good question for me. I’ve been out of the school circuit for a while. I knew a few lecturers whose droning voices made the most excellent background noise for a quick nap, but the best ones created a curiosity and hunger to learn more.

3. What’s the biggest misconception about you?
That my honesty is equated with insensitivity or coldness. The people who love you most won’t lie to you to spare your feelings; they will tell you what you need to hear, not what you want to hear. Sometimes the greatest gift is not a soothing hug, but rather a swift boot in the ass. I am a gentle, caring person to those who deserve it; I just happen to also not put up with any bullshit.

4. What is my current obsession?
Honestly, my blog. Since I changed the address and started this new one, I’ve discovered the blogosphere and the blogging community, and I love that people from many countries read my blog. I spend more time updating the colors and pictures than I ever did with the last one, and I have a blogroll I read almost every day. It’s an interesting concept, sharing pieces of yourself online with people you don’t know, and some you do; it’s a shame that this forum is soiled by others from time to time, but I enjoy blogging as a social hobby and won’t be chased away from it by people who truly should know better.

5. If you could be a man for a day, who would it be and why?
My father; he’s been dead for 11 years, but I’d still like a chance to hop into his head even for a short while and know how it felt to be him, to see the world through his eyes, to know what darted through his mind when those eyes landed on his only daughter.

6. What do you wish you had answers to?
Why people seem more naturally inclined to brandish evil than good; where darkness breeds in their hearts and how, or if, it can be killed; if there’s a purpose for seeing people for what they truly are, when they have no desire to change or be a better person, and never will

7. Name one of your good habits.
Being super-organized! I am not one of those people who has to fumble for keys, tear the house apart looking for something, or bulldoze through piles of clutter to find something. A place for everything, and everything in its place…Gary may disagree that this is a “good” habit, as he believes I have an odd fixation on baskets, storage bins, and file boxes, but I ask, when was the last time we couldn’t find something? Hmmmm? Exactly!

8. If you could live in another era, which would it be and why?
The future, in the mythical time that humanity finally grows up, treats everyone equally, halts the production of Bratz dolls (a true marker of society gone woefully wrong, aren’t they?), values knowledge over plasticized body parts, respects diversity instead of fearing it, puts more money into education than it does into warfare, respects substance and depth over airbrushed frivolity, and honors the land, environment, animals, and plants as co-existing partners instead of disposable resources.

9. What is your New Year’s resolution?
I always have several. I take the time to reflect upon the past year and think about what I could do differently this upcoming year, so that I have goal-oriented plans instead of wild promises I won’t keep.

10. If you could have one wish granted, what would it be and why?
To be granted unlimited wishes for my lifetime, so I always have one when I need one.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tag, I’m it again!

  1. what a great meme…love the answers. i think, too, that you need to be honest with people…i have a hard time doing that, though, with some people…like, my in-laws. but…i really enjoyed my little visit to your wonderful blog!enjoy your day.

  2. Stephanie says:

    “…Gary may disagree that this is a “good” habit, as he believes I have an odd fixation on baskets, storage bins, and file boxes, but I ask, when was the last time we couldn’t find something? Hmmmm? Exactly!” I’m still having a good laugh over this one. My Hubby and I have that same discussion. I’m a freak about “organizational crap,” as he likes to call it. But I feel so much better when things are neatly put away.By and large I think society would be MUCH better off if everyone were more organized.Enjoyed the answers to the meme very much. 🙂

  3. Ash says:

    Yeah.. I am echoing the others; I really, really enjoyed reading your answers to my meme. I should tag you more often, Lady M! 🙂 I too think that honesty is under rated… you should always be honest with people you care about…. instead of telling them lies to appease them but wont’ do them any good in the long run.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

