Smirking Cat’s new mascot!

With great pleasure, and without further ado, I introduce to you the official new mascot for The Smirking Cat (*drumroll, thunderous applause, much swooning*):

He was working it for the camera last night, giving me his best angles, makin’ love to the camera, flashing his bedroom eyes, and as soon as I saw the simpering, snide smirk on his face in one picture, I knew THIS was it: the new photo for my blog profile picture, and the official mascot of the Smirking Cat! Let’s welcome him with an appreciative round of applause (yes, even you, preferably on your feet and tossing long-stemmed red roses) and remember, all fan mail may be routed through me, especially the envelopes with money in them.
OK…I fibbed a bit and ended up watching part of the hockey game last night, but I swear I was only going to check the score and then change channels! It wasn’t quite the massacre I anticipated, yet still rather masochistic of me to watch. The Lightning lost 4-2 to the Detroit Red Wings, but I take comfort in the fact that the Red Wings have impossibly hideous uniforms and a dorky name (Red Wings? And what is that, a Goodyear tire sprouting wings on their chests?) . Hmmmph.

After the game I was treated to a delectable back rub (thank you, Gary) that rendered me so loose and relaxed I practically dripped off the bed, and it worked wonders: I slept better than I have all week, which has me wired today, feeling brassy (more than usual, I mean), and most certainly ready to begin the weekend, preferably by skipping this pesky work thing that interferes with 8 hours of my leisure time…

I will strategically wrap birthday and Christmas gifts this weekend since the kids will unfortunately not be with us, then must somehow discover a way to avoid said gifts from becoming fancy cat toys in the interim. (I ask you, doesn’t curly ribbon appear to have been specifically designed to attract felines?) Our house is “charming and cozy” (read: too damn small with not enough closets), so I am still amazed the kids have not discovered the stashes of presents we have hidden in the various squirrel holes we hoped would be most uninteresting to them, and least likely to be investigated.

My agenda for this fine day: screw around and shop online while maintaining a slight frown of concentration so I look like I am feverishly working; resist the impulse to spend my paycheck at sephora.com (my girly indulgence); plan my weekend on the back of my work to-do list so that, again, I appear to be doggedly working; and enjoy today and everything it brings. (Hmmm….doesn’t that sound like a dollar store greeting card…?)

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Detroit Red Wings, mascot, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smirking Cat’s new mascot!

  1. Stephanie says:

    I really think you and I might have been separated at birth. First? That cat is gorgeous! I have a thing for black kitties and I adore mine. She definitely rules the roost. And she smirks just about like he does.Second? “…most certainly ready to begin the weekend, preferably by skipping this pesky work thing that interferes with 8 hours of my leisure time…” I couldn’t have said it better myself. It pays the bills, yes. But if I were Queen of the World…And third? “…screw around and shop online while maintaining a slight frown of concentration so I look like I am feverishly working” Just exactly what I did yesterday!Have a great weekend. Hope you get all of those presents wrapped and re-stashed. I can’t wait for that piece of fun in our household. Kind of like I can’t wait for my next dentist’s appointment…

  2. Pingback: The Rat | The Smirking Cat!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

