Cast of Characters

Nothing says “time to update my letter of resignation” quite like a Monday morning meeting, but I managed to hold a straight face and refrain from excessive yawning or twitching until the pointless yammering was over, and I was free to go…back to my office, anyway.

The weekend was painfully short, as they always are, but I got a lot done: house cleaned, birthday gifts wrapped, Christmas cards sent (all two of them), the mandatory hockey game Saturday night, and some downtime tooling around trying to shake the fuzzy rust from my brain and create some va-va-voom graphics for my blog. So far the end results look like a child scrawled on the computer screen with a mashed-up crayon, so they are far from being unveiled!

In order to make future posts easier to write, I’m going to designate a nickname for each one of the kids, so I don’t have to write quite so vaguely in order to avoid using their names. So here is our cast of characters: “Wolverine”, the 8-year-old boy; “Bear”, the 6-year-old boy; and “Sunflower”, the 4-year-old girl.

This weekend we will be celebrating Bear’s birthday, since he wasn’t with us on his big day. Gary and I wrapped his presents together, and I had to smile as our personality differences became apparent in our task. As I neatly tucked the corners of wrapping paper so the raw edges wouldn’t show and wound precisely-measured, matching ribbon around the gift, Gary plopped several items at once into a gift bag large enough to hold a small tractor, tossed some rumpled tissue paper on top, and declared himself finished. I wanted to sarcastically suggest a part-time job wrapping gifts at the mall, but he hasn’t been feeling well, and since I shared my mutant cold germs that are impervious to all medications, I had a rare moment of mercy.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in birthdays, characters, work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cast of Characters

  1. Stephanie says:

    Like the names. I’ll be looking forward to some stories from Smirking Cat-Land that include these little characters.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    They give me plenty of material 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

