Small world

Yesterday I received an e-mail from a friend I haven’t heard from in almost a year…maybe even over a year? A while, at least! I thought she had moved away from this area, since during one of our last conversations, she had mentioned the possibility of her family moving, so I was surprised to find out she is practically right around the corner from where I live! They moved over the summer too, only a few miles down the road from our house. How have we never run into each other? This thriving metropolis boasts one grocery store, a liquor store, and a Wal-mart, and that is the extent of hang-outs here that don’t involve 4-wheelers, chewing tobacco, or livestock. It’s amazing we are so close and didn’t even know it! I feel a marathon phone conversation coming on….

I missed a hell of a hockey game last night. Brad Richards came back from his injury with a vengeance, and the Lightning won (yes, won! That’s not a typo!) 3-2 in a shootout against the Montreal Canadiens. Brad Richards shot the winning goal and had this to say about it: “I go in and try to shoot, it’s pretty simple. I don’t have the hands to do a bunch of dipsy-doodle stuff.” Dipsy-doodle stuff, indeed! Well, if nixing the dipsy-doodle stuff is what worked, then the Lighting should spend all day today practicing non-dipsy-doodle stuff. Hear that, Tortorella? Get on it.

But whimsical quotes are not the only redeeming traits of hockey players. I love watching the goalies. In many ways they are cat-like: that piercing, fervid hunter stare, following every move of the puck; that tense, anticipatory head quiver just before they pounce; the flayed limbs as they leap in the air to snatch their catnip toy, er, I mean, puck. All that’s missing is that little butt wiggle just before they leap, but I suspect that will not be an addition to the NHL anytime soon, no matter how much it would amuse me.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in friends, hockey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small world

  1. furiousBall says:

    Richards is a great player. My Flyers stomped a new mudhole into the Pens last night. I do enjoy watching Sid the Kid cry.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    FINALLY! Someone else who can’t stand Sidney Crosby!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

