Talk about snail mail

Nearly four years after slaving in web design night classes until practically the wee hours of the morning; eating, sleeping, and breathing the seven (yes, holy hell, seven) text books required for the class; and shelling out $125 for the privilege of taking the hours-long exam at a cramped, uncomfortable desk in solitary confinement….I finally received my Certified Internet Web Professional certificate in the mail yesterday. I laughed when I saw what it was; it would have been much more timely, oh, about four years ago! I’d like to call them and see what kind of story they will fabricate on the spot for taking so long to send my certificate.

Four years late or not, it’s nice to see the validation of all my work on paper, and I’ll probably frame it and hang it somewhere so I can point to it and say, “I’ve forgotten practically everything I crammed into my brain to take that test, and I am in dire need of a refresher course, but I passed that exam on my first try, mostly so I wouldn’t have to pay $125 to take it again.” Makes me want to dig out my books and dust off my gray matter and take a crack at another website.

I enjoy web design. I can get lost in my work for hours, tweaking the smallest graphic until it’s just right, resizing and moving and re-doing until I get a tiny smile on my face and know “that’s it!” I haven’t designed for a client in a while because, as my web design teacher prophetically told me, “You will have trouble letting a client tell you what to do.” Well, sure, when they want to put lemon yellow text on a burnt orange background, or use a hideous graphic their cousin Larry designed with the creative influence of Jack Daniels, or insist on flashing text, cutesy cursors, obnoxious colors, and random sound effects….all at the same time. Friends don’t let friends overkill thy website.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in certification, CIW, web design. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Talk about snail mail

  1. furiousBall says:

    I’ve been in IT for 15 years and proudly own no certifications besides the World’s Greatest Dad t-shirt my kids gave me one year… oh and the World’s Greatest Uncle pull over my nieces gave me a few years ago too

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    I was told the actual certification wasn’t necessary to get a job in design, but I wanted the validation of passing the test, of knowing I could do it, of proof on paper. In hindsight the $125 could have been better spent, but eh, I have some wall art now!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

