Good Day

Pigs flew, and hell froze over solid this morning…I got up and sweat through a kickboxing workout, AND I remembered to take my vitamins! Two things that generally never happen in the same decade, let alone the same morning. It must have created some good healthy karma, because the rest of the day was great…peaceful, fun, spent some time with Gary picking out Christmas surprises for the kids, and the Lightning play tonight. It’s a home game, and they actually stand a chance at home, so it may not be the usual vexatious slaughter.

The kids will be here tomorrow, and I’m looking forward to our weekend together. When we watched the kids play their last soccer games earlier this week, Wolverine reminded us excitedly that they will be with us this weekend, as if I need reminding! I have all of their days with us marked on the calendar. I love hearing them laugh, listening to them while they play, watching them run around the yard and wrestle their dad. They are absolutely giddy when they first get here, racing from room to room like they have to make sure everything is still here, and they are almost bursting to make up for lost time with their dad. I like watching them, like seeing them happy, but also think it’s sad they feel like they have to squeeze the most out of every second, before it’s all ripped away from them again.

I read an article today called Children, Divorce, and the Holidays: How to Make the Best of a Stressful Time, and one line stood out to me and deserves repeating: “The best gift you can give your children this holiday season is permission to love both parents.” Enough said.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in divorce, father's rights, hockey, kickboxing, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good Day

  1. Stephanie says:

    I’m glad it was a good day. It’s definitely tough to split the time, isn’t it? It’s hard to see them go… every time. We won’t see our crew until after Christmas. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  2. furiousBall says:

    great article, one i need to read myself. my kids come home tomorrow for a 2 week visit.

  3. thanks for stopping by and commenting on my thats not jello, that’s my brain blog! my hubby and i have been in a constant fight because, he wont talk to his mom!divorce is so hard for the kids…especially that parenting time,thing. i have custody of my step-kids. they only see their mom on the weekends…if she decides that her kids are important enough to see. but, they do the same with her…try to squeeze in as much as possible, in a short amount of time. we are lucky though, they celebrate the jewish holidays with us and christmas and easter, with their mom and her family…makes things a little easier, in that department!have a wonderful holiday!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

