Hockey team for rent

To all Washington Capitals fans, I extend a humble “You’re welcome” for my team graciously knocking the puck into your goal within the last few minutes of yesterday’s game. It was quite generous of them to do so, considering it lost them the game and made them look peculiarly incompetent. Credit for the goal was actually given to a Capitals player, but I saw the re-play roughly 300 times, slowed down to a crawl, and after Ramo blocked it, his own teammates felt the need to congregate in the net like hockey cholesterol, stand obstinately in his way, and serve as bouncing boards for the puck to careen into the net. The Lightning have played so miserably this season that I didn’t even unleash my usual torrent at the TV; I was reduced to weary head-shaking and inaudible mutterings. Tortorella summed it up just fine: ” I don’t know what to tell you. There’s a lot of things we need to get better at. We’re a (terrible) hockey team right now.” Amen, praise be, now go forth and score, for the love of god.

Tear-jerking hockey game aside, I got quite a bit accomplished last night. I followed through on my obsessive-compulsive urge to clean and organize, so everything in the kitchen pantry is now lined up militantly with precisely-measured equal distance between each item…ummm, just kidding about that. Kind of. *maniacal grin*

Less than a week of 2007 left. I love the New Year, the feel of a new start, a fresh slate, a blank new calendar. The most common New Year’s resolutions are: to spend more time with friends and family; to exercise more; to lose weight; to quit smoking; to quit drinking; to get out of debt; and to get organized. So essentially Americans resolve to spend less time in drunken solitude rubbing their beer bellies and flicking their cigarrette ashes onto the grass because getting up and walking to the ashtray would constitute exercise.

Maybe the Lightning will resolve to stop passing the puck to the other team, or to stop crowding into the net with the goalie and getting in his way, or how about not scoring for the other team? That would be a great starting point.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Capitals, hockey, Lightning, New Year resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hockey team for rent

  1. LizB says:

    Thanks for commenting about education over on my Mermaid Musings blog. I look forward to reading you.

  2. furiousBall says:

    My Flyers have been stinking it up too (6 games in a row). They’re on tonight, at home against the Leafs.

  3. alexia! says:

    Yeah, I’m looking forwards to tonight’s game! I’m not sure the Habs will be able to win, though. The way they’ve been playing lately has been…questionable, to say the least. Plus, the last time our teams’ faced off, yours won!! Oh, well. We’ll have to wait and see. I hope it’ll be a good game! (Two struggling teams playing each other is always interesting to watch.) 😉

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

