Sayonora, 2007!

It’s that time of year again… to devoutly make resolutions that will fizzle by January 3rd, to stock up on the bubbly, to wear ridiculous hats, to make obscene amounts of noise, and to reflect upon the past year. So here it is, my own 2007 year-in-review:

It’s hard to describe the past year. Challenging. Aggravating. Exasperating. I have to be blunt, I encountered so many assholes this past year that my already-shaky faith in humanity was nearly blown to bits. Obnoxious neighbors, criminal landlords, hypocrites, selfish boors, you name it, I had extensive contact with the entire smelly lot of them. Common sense and common courtesy were both hurled out the window, and I have not been informed that they will be returning any time soon.

Lest you fear this entire year-in-review will be a downer, I will share my happiest moment of 2007: During Thanksgiving week, my mom was visiting, and the kids were also with us. My mother has been so starved for grandchildren that she jumped on the chance to play the doting grandmother role to the hilt, and she gave each one of the kids a little money as they were leaving for Wal-mart with their dad. They were excited, and I expected them to come home with a new action figure or doll or book, but they certainly surprised me. My mom and I went out for a while, and when we got home, there was a vase full of flowers on the dining room table. I thought Gary had just bought some flowers to dress up the table for Thanksgiving dinner, until the kids kept exchanging glances and then finally burst out, “Did you see the table?” Turns out they arrived at the store, saw some flowers, and decided that they wanted to bring flowers home for me. It meant a lot to me, and it was a sweet, thoughtful gesture that I won’t forget.

Another significant turn of events during 2007 involved this very blog. I had to shut down another blog due to childish and scurrilous “anonymous” comments being left by snickering visitors who, in their nescience, swore I fabricated my own vocabulary, but I’ve covered that elsewhere. Turns out they almost did me a favor, because I revamped the blog, moved to this new address, and have had a lot of fun with it since. I have far more visitors and commenters on this blog, and I feel proud and victorious that lame efforts to chase me away have not succeeded.

So I’d like to finish up with some highlights of this blog:

*Most frequent search engine keywords used to reach my blog: “smirking” (go figure), “Marty St. Louis”, “Nikolia Khabibulin”, and “cat photo shoot”

*Most amusing search engine keywords used to reach my blog: “really stupid gifts”, “masochistic cat photo” (what exactly was this person hunting for, or do I want to know?), and “my cats dislike people”

*Sweetest search engine keywords used to reach my blog: “Can my baby hear my cat purring?” I just had to research this one, and this article comes closest to answering the question: What’s It Like In the Womb?

*Most popular post, by number of visits: My Baby

*Most popular post, by number of comments: It’s a tie! Both of these posts had 9 comments each: My Baby and A Question for My Readers

*Most frequent visiting city: Far and away, the Smirking Cat-tiest city is Perry, Florida, with 186 page loads within just the last two weeks! (source: Statcounter.com) (*confetti, party hats, high-fives, trophies all around*) Awww, ain’t it sweet to have fans?

Thanks to everyone who visits, reads, leaves comments, and makes this blog so much fun.

More important than glancing over our shoulders at the past year, however, is looking forward to the new one, so I wish everyone a great 2008!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in 2007, blog highlights, New Year. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sayonora, 2007!

  1. Ash says:

    Happy New Year, Lady M! I hope that this year will bring more joy and happiness to you and your family. 🙂

  2. Alexia! says:

    Happy New Year!! I hope you have an awesome ’08!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Happy New Year to you and yours, too! Hope your statcounter continues its upwardly trend and the search hits keep being as interesting. 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

