Six Random Facts

*Whew!* I’m working pretty long days and still recovering from Internet-and-blog withdrawal, so give me a moment to breathe, kiss my keyboard, and revel in posting a new entry and my long-lost online-ness…there, tender moment over! Let’s move on.

An older woman at work yesterday gave me an indulgent smile and asked, “Are you a student around here?” I will take it as a compliment that, 10 years past the average age of a college graduate, I retain the fresh-faced, naive sweetness of a youngling. I hesitate to say it…(dropping to a stealthy whisper)…but I actually like the gang I work with. Considering I’m spending over 9 hours a day with them, that’s definitely a good thing! So far I haven’t had the nagging suspicion that they are unfortunate survivors of a brain-eating disease, either, which is a refreshing change of pace in work environment as well.

Today a guy at work peered at me curiously for a while, and just as I was beginning to wonder if I had half a Pop-Tart stuck in my teeth, he gestured to my nose ring and asked, “Did that hurt?” Nah, it was just a stick the size of a Magic Marker that was pounded into my nose with a mallet and no anesthesia by a heavily-tattoo’d man wearing black Latex gloves. (Need I say that he eerily resembled a cast member from the movie Saw?)

So, random work moments aside, I was also tagged by K&M.HappilyEverAfter over on Stepmama Drama to answer a meme, so let’s get to it:

MEME RULES:
Link to the person who tagged you.
Post the rules on your blog.
Share six non-important things/habits/quirks about yourself.
Tag at least 3 people at the end of your post and link to their blogs.
Let each person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

I’m assuming that “I love hockey” and “I’m mildly opinionated” go without repeating, so I came up with these:

  1. My all-time favorite song, since I was a little kitten, is “Don’t Cry Out Loud” by Melissa Manchester.
  2. I hate to admit this, but I cry during sad movies. I like to think I’m tough and impenetrable, but let Charlotte die in “Charlotte’s Web”, or the Fox and Hound decide they can’t be friends, or Forest Gump’s mom die, and…ahhh, damnit…pass me a tissue.
  3. My favorite gemstone is the opal.
  4. I still sometimes pray, even though I’m not sure there’s anyone to listen. (That’s another blog entry. We’ll get to it in time.)
  5. I love technology but can’t stand Instant Messenging, text messaging, chat, or even cell phones. Give me good old face-to-face.
  6. I have to make the bed as soon as I get out of it. Otherwise the room feels trashed to me.

I think most everyone on the blogosphere has already been tagged for this, but let’ s try:

The Unstable Blogger
Gimchi
Ash

Tag, ladies! You’re it!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in nose rings, work. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Six Random Facts

  1. furiousBall says:

    I get the same question about my nose bone.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Kind of a silly question…objects thrust through your nostril tend to smart a bit, yes.

  3. Ash says:

    Hey Lady M… thanks for the tag! I will do it soon. I offloaded my blog for awhile because things have been kinda hectic these past few days and I just don’t feel like writing. I will do the tag soon though OK? Keep on writing, I enjoy reading your posts… the part about the nose ring was funny. Heh.

  4. jason evans says:

    I have the young look also. At times, it’s annoyed me, but I’m thinking it will be an asset shortly (in other words, I’m getting less-than-young).

  5. Feminist Gal says:

    I get ridiculous questions about my tattoo, mostly “did you just get a tat to fit in with the population” (i work in a substance abuse clinic and TONS of the clients have them)… um… yea, i got a completely perminent piece of art on my body just to fit in with my clients. lol… people are nutts sometimes! 🙂(speaking for weird questions: i actually really want a nose ring but i get a lot of colds, how annoying is it with a runny nose? lol)

  6. Little Wren says:

    I think I’m losing it because I thought I left a comment on your blog to tag you for the meme. Sorry – clearly I forgot or something. Apparently the stress of dealing with crazy people is effecting my memory! 🙂

  7. Smirking Cat says:

    Feminist Gal, I have adapted a habit of holding the tissue funny when I blow my nose so the tissue doesn’t get caught on the ring…but really, now that I’m used to it, I don’t even think about it!Little Wren, dealing with crazy people is totally understood, as so many of us relate!

  8. Squirrel says:

    OMG! I LOVED that Melissa Manchester song when I was a bout 12 years old! I believe I remember turning it up loud and lying on my bed wailing over some lost puppy love! LOL

  9. Smirking Cat says:

    I still turn it up and belt it out!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

