Grizzly Bear

Day #7 of working 9+ hour days without a day off…I am exhausted, worn out, run down, burned out, and oh-so-ready for my beloved, much-anticipated day off tomorrow. Priority #1: sleeping in! Priority #2: taking a nap!

The other morning I was grumpier than a just-awakened, starving, thirsty grizzly bear with a hangover and a hangnail (this is mighty grumpy, mind you), but I forced a smile and assisted an older man who needed help reading and writing everything, and he needed everything explained to him more than once since he could barely hear. In the middle of listening to me repeat myself again and explain things to him again as patiently as I could, he caught my eyes and said gently, “The world needs more people like you.”

I actually felt myself blush, not from embarrassment, but from a rush of happiness. He came along at the perfect time to soften the edges of the day, and I honestly found myself feeling lighter as he walked away, like something had been released. The world needs more people like him too.

I lay in bed this morning after pummeling the snooze button, snuggled up on my side, listening to the rain. It was lulling and rhythmic, and I wished I could stay right there, curled up, letting the rain soothe me back to sleep. I’m sure the overtime will make all this worth it…almost!

How far that little candle throws his beams!

So shines a good deed in a weary world.
~William Shakespeare
About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in acts of kindness, people, rain. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grizzly Bear

  1. zarlyng says:

    I love those people who prop us up when we need it the most. And I understand perfectly how such folks can soften our edges. Thanks for the reminder that those folks exist!

  2. clevergirl says:

    I love those moments, the ones that make it all worth it.

  3. Thanks for the pass it on sign. i put it on both of my blogs. enjoy time off.

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    How neat! I saw the sign on your blog, k&m. We need people to slow life down for a moment and remind us that some people are truly good. Maybe it’s because I encounter so much negativity lately, but it was extra-touching that he was so kind to me, at a moment when I was very frustrated.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

