I Hold These Truths….

…to be self-evident:

  • that 4:30 AM is too damn early to be getting out of a warm, comfy bed to head to work.
  • that alarm clocks were invented as much-dreaded, medieval torture devices.
  • that Billy Idol’s “White Wedding” and L.L. Cool J’s “Mama Said Knock You Out” are superb sing-along, wake-up, get-moving songs for the ridiculously early morning commute. Dance moves optional but recommended.
  • that parking garages have the disconcerting feel of a crime scene waiting to happen.
  • that the smell of coffee is universally comforting.
  • that there is no better stress relief imaginable than a hard-hitting, heart-pumping, sweat-producing kickboxing workout, complete with imaginary opponents (who always lose).
  • that cats are indisputably a superior species.
  • that the novelty and excitement of getting new comments on my blog never fades! (Thanks, everyone…and if you have been a reader but haven’t commented yet, go ahead and take the plunge!)
  • that family is made, not born.
  • that the most toxic individuals can be your own family, and it’s okay to protect yourself by avoiding them.
  • that children learn most powerfully and directly by observing those around them.
  • but…that blaming your parents for your problems as an adult is immature and downright stupid. Grow up and take responsibility for yourself.
  • that nothing can elicit more spontaneous smiles than the uninhibited laughter of kids.
  • that jealousy and greed will blind you.
  • that men and women are genuinely complimentary to each other, if we can just get past childish competitions, us-vs.-them thinking, and the incurable human impulse to declare one group better than the other by definition of the group holding more power at that time.
  • that it puzzles me why we can’t value our differences instead of labelling, degrading, pigeon-holing, ranking, and rejecting them.
  • that you better VOTE today!
  • that voter turn-out may be higher if there was someone worth voting for.
  • that demanding performance and accountability from our government is not unpatriotic; it’s responsible.
  • that silence in the face of injustice is as criminal as the unjust act itself.
  • that “why?” is one of the most important questions to ask yourself…to ask others.
  • that if you have sincerely explored why you believe what you do, you will not feel threatened by others who believe differently.
  • that earning what you have builds a far stronger person than having things indulgently handed to you.
  • that “putting the kids first” should be far more than an empty, feel-good catch-phrase.
  • that there is no one more despicable, vile, or worthy of contempt than those who will stomp on their own children’s necks to take a swing at their ex.
  • that money can’t make up for the ugliness of selfishness, pettiness, greed, and hatefulness.
  • that no matter how clever you suppose you are, no matter how sneaky you think you have been, someone is staring directly through you. And is not impressed.
  • that the lowest, slimiest act of cowardice is lying to a child.
  • that struggling to make a difference in this crazy, messed-up world takes more courage and heart than it will ever be given credit…but to not try is unimaginable if you care enough to wish a better world onto those who will follow us.
About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in children, lying, truths, values, voting. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Hold These Truths….

  1. furiousBall says:

    I asked my cats if they were actually superior beings, they just told me they didn’t have time to answer that.

  2. zarlyng says:

    “that parking garages have the disconcerting feel of a crime scene waiting to happen.”Humm. I’m guessing that you’ve been CSI reruns πŸ™‚“that the most toxic individuals can be your own family, and it’s okay to protect yourself by avoiding them”Wow. Can you tell my mom this?And congrats on the new job!

  3. [Mat] says:

    Lots O’ thought!thanks for dropping by.I think women are better. But that’s only because I love women. πŸ˜€I like the gentlemanly behavior the cat has!LOL

  4. Stephanie says:

    Wow! What an awesome list. I agree with them all. And “White Wedding” and “Mama Said Knock You Out”? Personal favorites of mine, too. πŸ™‚

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    I can teach you the smooth dance moves to both songs too. I assure you they are quite impressive πŸ™‚

  6. …that sometimes plants die no matter what you do.Great list πŸ˜‰Thanks for the comments and the blogroll add! I really appreciate it πŸ˜‰

  7. Stephanie says:

    I’ll be waiting for the manual on the moves. πŸ™‚And I love, love, love that picture – rocking the pigtails, indeed! I think it’s the attitude way more than the hairdo but, either way, the pic is awesome!

  8. You think those are good songs to get you movin’ on a commute? Try listening to Bob Marley….on a motorcycle. Thank God for full face helmets…..Gotta’ “argue” the cat one with you – my two furballs have the combined intellectual agility of a soap dish.

  9. Smirking Cat says:

    I must admit to one kitten with questionable intellectual abilities as well…

  10. Bleu says:

    “that the novelty and excitement of getting new comments on my blog never fades!”Thanks so much for the comment on my blog. I’m returning the compliment. Love your writing! You have the unique ability to write about things which ordinarily would be rather mundane..but in your style..its interesting, witty, and fun to read! Which really is the point of a blog after all isn’t it? Awesome page!

  11. Smirking Cat says:

    Heh heh…I think you just said my life is boring. Just kidding. Sometimes there is a lot on my mind but I write about the mundane…hockey, my cats, random things that jump through my mind…because it’s more relaxing than what I’m really thinking. All in due time…

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

