Good Vibrations

It’s been a while since I assisted anyone at work, so when the Clinical Director asked me to help her out with something today, my knee-jerk reaction was to inquire, “Why? Are your fingers broken?” Then I remembered that, oh yes, helping her out is my job. She and a few other co-workers kept telling me how happy they are to have me there, and how much they appreciated the work I was doing. I almost fell over. I could count on one hand, with multiple fingers left over, the number of times any of my so-called supervisors at my last crappy job ever appreciated anything enough to utter “thank you”. It’s a very welcome change of pace! If they don’t ease up, though, I will get a big head… although according to unreliable (and undesirable) sources, my head is already gargantuan.

I love settling in at a new job. Tomorrow I’ll lug some plants and pictures to arrange symetrically and neatly on my desk and on the shelves in my office. Today I gave the place a good cleaning. I can’t stand a dirty, messy office any more than I can a dirty, messy house, so everyone stepped back and indulged my cleanliness compulsion until I smiled satisfactorily at the sparkling-clean shininess. I think they were actually afraid I’d wipe them down or toss them into the trash can if they came too close.

Cleaning out the desk where someone else used to work gives odd glimpses into this person’s psyche. Everything, and I mean everything, was rubber-banded in the desk drawers; supplies were rubber-banded to each other, boxes were rubber-banded shut, and for some mysterious reason, pens had rubber bands wound tightly around them. I was curious at first, then simply irritated, unbanding everything so I could actually use them.

My gut feeling is still quite positive for this new job. After so much draining negativity the past year or so, I’m excited to have such prospects open in front of me.

My Lightning play tonight…maybe the good vibes will carry on, and they will win in a shut-out game this evening! Okay, I would settle for them not losing by 5 points or more, and not scoring for the other team. That’s not asking too much, eh?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cleaning, hockey, Tampa Bay Lightning, work. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Good Vibrations

  1. furiousBall says:

    My Flyguys are on tonight too. There’s rumors we’re going to resign Forsberg by the end of the week.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    I’m sure my team will lose, but I will check in here and there to peek at the score. If Forsberg a goalie? I haven’t seen the Flyers play much to know the player names.

  3. clevergirl says:

    I’ve come into two classrooms after two teachers who were pretty established in the school. What they left behind said a lot about them – one left absolutely nothing. I think it is safe to assume that is all he had brought to the job. Talking to fellow staff members and students who had known him confirmed this.Another teacher left a haphazard mess of STUFF everywhere. Her teaching was exactly that: disorganized and unplanned.I try to keep that in mind whenever I leave a job, what people will learn about me based on what I leave behind.

  4. Stephanie says:

    I’m laughing about the rubber bands. That totally cracked me up. I can’t really explain why. So maybe it’s a little odd. Anyway… I’m NOT about rubber bands, but everything in my desk is VERY organized. My husband calls it anal, but that’s just him. 🙂I’m glad to hear that the new job is going well and that the folks there actually give you some warm fuzzies. That’s awesome. And whoever said your head was gargantuan needs to just shut up.I’m sorry. We don’t say the words “shut up” in our home, because they’re not nice. That person should “take a time out,” perhaps. 🙂

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    Actually the exact phrase used was “self-aggrandizing”, which has become my favorite new phrase, and I chuckle every time I use it.

  6. Sungold says:

    I’m pondering WTF the rubber band fetish might mean. Both of my boys have a semi-unhealthy fascination with rubber bands, but hey, they’re only 4 and 8.If that’s the weirdest thing you encounter in your new post, you’ll be okay. Congratulations!I also wanted to say thanks for adding me to your blogroll. You’re on mine now, too, not just as a courtesy but because it’ll make it easier for me to stop by periodically.

  7. sp says:

    Hey your team didn’t lose! Mine did!Congratulations on the new job. I hope it goes well.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

