Goalies, Hockey, and High Scores

My Lightning lost last night in overtime to the Atlanta Thrashers, which was disappointing but not exactly surprising. I think it’s in the players’ contracts to play well for no more than two consecutive games, then they are required to lose, lest my hopes get too high. I have a massive soft spot for goalies, and I still feel a tug on my heart at the way Holmqvist collapsed face-first on the ice after the Thrashers scored the winning goal in overtime. Being a goalie must be very difficult and humbling. Your only job, your sole responsibility, the single reason you exist, is to keep that puck from entering the net, so I imagine they feel quite lousy every time that puck makes it past them. Especially a winning goal in overtime.

Then again…they get paid a ridiculous cartload of cash to do absolutely nothing but stop a puck from entering the net, vs. the dirt paid to people who save lives or help children or strive to change the world. Sorry, the social worker/psychologist/world savior in me can’t even be quiet during hockey games. I’m astounded at the priorities of our society, and wonder how anyone can be surprised at the unsavory results.

I bet all this talk about hockey and goalies and saving the world has left you scratching your head and wondering: “Yes, Smirking Cat, but what is the highest score ever in a hockey game?”

I assure you the highest score in NHL history was NOT reached by the Tampa Bay Lightning.

According to About.com, the highest score in NHL history was 16 goals, achieved by the Montreal Canadiens when they defeated the Quebec Bulldogs 16-3 on March 3, 1920. Today’s homework: impress your friends, family, or casual acquaintances and share this tidbit of trivia at least once today!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Atlanta Thrashers, goalies, high score, hockey, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goalies, Hockey, and High Scores

  1. furiousBall says:

    And who was in goal for the Canadians? none other than Georges Vezina!

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Furiousball, is your blog down? My link to you isn’t working.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Alright, I’ll do the homework, although I have to say the only person that will be impressed with my knowledge will be My Hubby. He will be VERY impressed, though.You have your own homework to do, Missy. Since you have such an excellent blog, you have to pass along the bloggy love to your top ten list, as well. I’m impatiently awaiting your picks… 🙂

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    I know, I am composing my list as we speak…type…I already had hockey on the brain before I knew I had been listed as an Excellent Blog, so I had to get the hockey talk out of my blood first!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

