Blogging with a Purpose

It’s such a touchy-feely, reward-giving week in the blogosphere! Everyone join hands and feel the love…Clever Escape has bestowed upon me the Blogging with a Purpose Award. It’s great to see so many bloggers acknowledging each other, and I love that these rewards encourage giving right back, as I need to nominate 5 bloggers in turn.

A toast…make mine Coke, please, I have never acquired a taste for alcohol, even after graduate school, believe it or not…to all the bloggers, readers, and commenters that make blogging fun, and give us interesting things to read at work!

Since it is a Blogging with a Purpose Award, I actually put a lot of thought into what the purpose of my blog exactly is. I remember reading in a article about writing textbook-perfect blogs to stick to one subject and be a master of one topic. I shrugged, tossed the article away, and continued to write about whatever popped into my head at any given moment, because that is my life.

I am juggling a million things at once, like many of you, and the purpose of my blog parallels the purpose of my life, if I had to narrow it down. I heard a quote from a woman who recalled being beaten as a child for stealing sheets to give to homeless people in her village, and she said after she was beaten severely by her mother for taking the sheets, she crawled into a closet and cried and made a promise to herself that she would never let anything that anyone did to her shut down her heart. The statement stood out powerfully to me, and I make myself remember it when people in my life are being selfish, hateful, and venomous. I can’t control what they do, especially when I don’t even understand it, but I can stop their actions and my reactions to them from turning my heart off; I can still want the world to be a better place and still try to improve my corner of it, in spite of them. Because of them.

So if I had to whip up a purpose for my blog, there it is: a place for me to remember not to switch my heart off, by pouring a little of it here.

My 5 Blogging with a Purpose nominations are:

  1. The Political Cat
  2. Oh, You’re a Feminist?!
  3. Feministing
  4. Doubting Faith?
  5. Let Me See My Son
About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Blogging with a Purpose Award, blogs, heart, life, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogging with a Purpose

  1. Little Wren says:

    “….place for me to remember not to switch my heart off, by pouring a little of it here.”I like that a lot.I will have to check out those blogs. I know about James Rhoades…I really feel for him and have been watching to see what happens with his case.

  2. furiousBall says:

    cool, 5 new blogs i’ve never heard of

  3. Oh, wow, really?? Wow! Thanks so much! I’ve always felt like I blogged With A Purpose, though some just call it kvetching. And thanks for turning me on to some blogs I never heard of, either.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

