Gun-Wielding Mother of the Year

The first headline that caught my eye this morning was this: Mother Abducts Children from Foster Parents. The article doesn’t get into much detail about the situation, such as why the kids are with foster parents, but I suspect the kids weren’t placed with foster parents because their biological mother was an outstanding exemplar of a parent.

The woman pulled out a gun with her kids present. Period. That’s all I need to know to ascertain what kind of parent she is: despicable and reckless. What do you say to your kids after you’ve waved a loaded gun around and threatened to kill someone? Turn to them, huddled in the backseat, and give them a big, welcoming grin and burst out with, “Hey, kiddos! Feel like hitting McDonald’s?” Good god, what the kids must have been thinking, and feeling. And how are they supposed to feel safe with her now that they are stuck with her?

But, like so much of what I have seen lately, I’m sure not much consideration was given at all to the kids or their feelings or their needs. The article even refers to them like property or belongings: “…she took the children from the foster parents’ vehicle and put them in her car.” Like bags of groceries or something. And since she’s the biological mother, a whole lot of nothing will happen to her for her actions, despite the fact she directly endangered the kids, broke the law, and demonstrated horrific “parenting” ability.

So anyway…Happy Valentine’s Day! I know, not a very celebratory post, but news like this makes me so angry. Kids deserve than that.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in abduction, foster parents, kids, news. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gun-Wielding Mother of the Year

  1. furiousBall says:

    my kids are 800 miles away from me and i would do anything in the world to be with them. i read to them most every night over the phone. i help my son with homework. my crime, i got divorced.awesome. life can suck it.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    I know…and people like this mother make me that much more angry, because parents like her generally have more rights than parents like you, or Gary, who genuinely love their kids and want what is best for them.

  3. It can be argued that nothing says love like being willing to shoot someone for you.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

