What Does Love Mean?

Someone was wise enough to ask a group of 4 to 10 year old children, “What does love mean?” Here are a few of their answers…

“When my grandmother got arthritis, she couldn’t bend over and paint her toenails anymore. So my grandfather does it for her all the time, even when his hands got arthritis too. That’s love.” (Rebecca – age 8)

“When someone loves you, the way they say your name is different. You just know that your name is safe in their mouth.” (Billy – age 4)

“Love is when a girl puts on perfume and a boy puts on shaving cologne and they go out and smell each other.” (Karl – age 5)

“Love is sharing even if you think you don’t have enough.” (Chrissie – age 6)

“Love is like medicine, and hate is like poison. If everybody knew that, we’d all be happy.” (Keisha – age 8)

“Love is when my mommy makes coffee for my daddy and she takes a sip before giving it to him, to make sure the taste is OK.” (Danny – age 7)

“My mommy said they adopted me because they wanted one more way to grow love in our family. She said I grew in her heart, not in her belly.” (Hector – age 6)

“Love is when you tell a boy you like his shirt, and then he wears it everyday.” (Noelle – age 7)

“Love is like a little old woman and a little old man who are still friends even after they know each other much too well.” (Tommy – age 6)

“You really shouldn’t say ‘I love you’ unless you mean it. But if you mean it, you should say it a lot. People might forget.” (Jessica – age 8)

This is from an e-mail circulating at work, and these kids’ responses made me smile; they get it, don’t they? No sappy, flowery Shakespeare-esque droning about what love is. They honed right in on what matters. Much better than the commercialized advertisements and buy-buy-buy hype the holiday has been drenched in…yep, I definitely prefer these kids’ ideas of love.

Here’s one more for the road:

Author and lecturer Leo Buscaglia once talked about a contest he was asked to judge. The purpose of the contest was to find the most caring child. The winner was a four year old child whose next door neighbor was an elderly gentleman who had recently lost his wife. Upon seeing the man cry, the little boy went into the old gentleman’s yard, climbed onto his lap, and just sat there. When his Mother asked him what he had said to the neighbor, the little boy said, “Nothing, really. I just helped him cry.”

*photo courtesy of Michael Slade*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in children, love, meaning. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What Does Love Mean?

  1. furiousBall says:

    that was sweet, i need a four year old like that to help me cry somedays either that or more vodka

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Kids have such an untainted, self-less, pure view of love. How does that get ruined??? I know a LOT of adults who could learn from them, but I’m also left wondering, how does that pure sense of love get destroyed by the time they are adults?

  3. Just wanted to drop by with a thank you- Your blog is my biggest referral so far.I really appreciate it 😉Gertrudehttp://gertrudegrannypanties.wordpress.com/

  4. Renee says:

    What a sweet post. Thanks for the smile!

  5. I love those quotes! Kids are so wise!

  6. Happy Valentines Day to you! What a sweet entry. I love those quotes, I wrote it down in my journal.

  7. left you my email below in post about new blog. stepmama-drama

  8. Stephanie says:

    Loved that list, and your perspective, as usual.

  9. zarlyng says:

    “My mommy said they adopted me because they wanted one more way to grow love in our family. She said I grew in her heart, not in her belly.” Sniff. Sniff. This is how I feel about my heartdaughters.

  10. Smirking Cat says:

    That is one of my favorites too! The cologne and perfume one cracked me up.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

