Gangster Hockey

Dilemma, dilemma…when The Godfather is on at the exact same time as hockey, how in blazes do you decide what to watch? I flipped on the TV last night to catch the Lightning vs. Islanders score, and there was Michael Corleone in his gangsterly goodness, tempting me away from the hockey game. I was momentarily paralyzed …hockey or Godfather…. hockey or gangsters… hockey or my favorite Mafia man, Michael Corleone…Well, hockey won out by slim margin, and I ended up snuggled under a blanket with Gary, with Tweetie on my lap, watching my Lightning play pretty hard for once. There are definitely worse ways for a cat-loving hockey fanatic to spend an evening.

It was a fast-paced game, and Ramo made some great saves, but the Lightning lost 1-0. *sigh* Will my team ever win again while I am alive to witness the feat? DiPietro, the Islanders’ goalie, said after the game, “Just when everyone had us written off and it looks like we aren’t going to be able to compete anymore, we find a way to win.” Apparently a “way to win” is to take on my team, as they are handing out victories like parade candy.

Something Tortorella may not have considered yet is signing Michael Corleone to play for the Lightning. Oh sure, he’s a bit past the average hockey player age of roughly 19-25, but I bet the old guy has some guts left in him to bring to the ice. And who would be daring or foolhardy enough to check the Godfather’s kid?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in hockey, New York Islanders, Tampa Bay Lightning, The Godfather. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gangster Hockey

  1. furiousBall says:

    The Flyers should sign ANYONE right now who doesn’t play for them currently.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    The Corleones were a pretty big family. They could supply a hockey team or two.

  3. I will set my total lust, love and complete infatuation for DiPietro aside here and say this: I think Sonny (the oldest brother) Corleone would be a great addition to any hockey team…it’d be like having an Italian Derian Hatcher. Michael Corleone on the other hand would be an excellent addition to the already fabulous Vinny & Marty show. Michael would be more of a finesse player I think. I just love your blog…where else would we talk about the Corleone brothers as hockey players? You rock so hard!!!! Oh and Fredo? He might carry the water bottle but he’d never see any ice time. No way.

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    Just think of all the fights if Sonny played!

  5. lyndaspix says:

    I guess I’d have to take the hockey since I can rent The Godfather…which I still have yet to see. Actually, I think I need to go rent it soon. I’ve heard several things about it recently and I’m curious to watch. Anyway, I’d still take the hockey game over a movie any day.

  6. lyndaspix says:

    I guess I’d have to take the hockey since I can rent The Godfather…which I still have yet to see. Actually, I think I need to go rent it soon. I’ve heard several things about it recently and I’m curious to watch. Anyway, I’d still take the hockey game over a movie any day.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

