NHL Trades

I didn’t pay much attention to the NHL trades this past week, that is, until The Unstable Blogger broke the news to me that Brad Richards was packing up for Dallas. It’s hard to watch a Stanley Cup era player walk away, but let’s face it, if any of them were still playing Stanley Cup caliber, the Lightning wouldn’t currently be the worst team in the NHL. And though I have a soft spot for Holmqvist (chalk it up to 2 consecutive shut-outs that made me really hope he was going somewhere), I have to admit he’s been inconsistent, so I understand that move also. Although I am growing quite weary of Feaster and Tortorella making these unilateral decisions without my input. I’ll take it up with them, definitely.

Being a fan of the worst team in the NHL, however, makes following stats and such very uncomplicated. All I need to remember is:

Tampa Bay Lightning: sucks
Every other team in the NHL: better than the Tampa Bay Lightning

See? Very simple.

I settled in to watch the ex-Dallas Stars players do their thing with the Lightning last night. The astounding result of the trades? The Lightning lost. The more things change, the more they stay the same.

We had just snuggled up under the covers last night and gotten comfy when Sylvester, the demonic wind-up toy posing as my kitten, started tearing wildly around the house, pursuing one of the other cats until the poor, stalked cat howled in outrage, or for assistance, and one of us was forced to abandon the warm, cozy confines of the blankets and brave the cold air to settle the satanic kitten before he knocked over a table, shook loose a roof support, or tore down a wall…we mutually agreed that brave soul should be Gary! (He may have a slightly different version of that statement, but he’ll just have to start his own blog, won’t he?)

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Brad Richards, cats, Holmqvist, NHL trades, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NHL Trades

  1. Mister-M says:

    Yeah, well the Flyers have been free-falling since being high atop the conference at the beginning of February. They didn’t do anything at the trade deadline, though I didn’t expect them to do much.There was talk of adding another Richards to our lineup, but he’s a bit steep $$$. Forsberg signs with Colorado and I guess we’ll have to live with the injuries and Vinnie Prospal.Ah well.

  2. furiousBall says:

    well if the Flyers don’t get healthy, we could give you a run for your money

  3. Halpern was the #1 “STAR” of the game last night. Instant value add, see? (I am so full of crap and I know it lol) Richards starts with us tonight and all I have to say is that he better produce. He’s gonna wear #91 here apparently. I just got an email “get your Richards jersey in time for the playoffs!” — yeah, whatever..its not like we’re in 2nd place in the West cuz of him. Show me whatcha got, Bubba. I have faith in Smitty. He’ll be good for you guys. He’s just gotta settle in and get use to the Vinny/Marty show. 🙂 And you know, this might have gone a little smoother had mgmt for both teams consulted us on these transactions. WTH?! 😉

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    I hear you! Damn overpaid stuffed suits thinking they know more about hockey than we do *indignant sniff*. Maybe Richards will play better on a team that actually has some talent to back him up.

  5. between3boys says:

    At least you’re not a fair-weather fan! It’s been many, many moons since I have had time to watch a hockey game from start to finish, let alone keep track of my team’s stats, but I’ll let you in on a little secret… I’m a HUGE Flyers fan and Eric Lindros will always be a Philadelphia Flyer in my mind. LOL

  6. Mister-M says:

    Well, I’ll take 2-wins in a row to turn around that horrendous 10-game winless skid.Let’s go Flyers!<>< HREF="http://www.thepsychoexwife.com/" REL="nofollow">~Mister-M<><>

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

