The Lightning Suck

Mr. M has already rubbed salt into the gaping wound (see his comment about last night’s game under Jealous Much?), and all I can say is, “OUCH”. Yes, my Lightning not only lost 3-2 to the Philadelphia Flyers last night, but Andre Roy, the team hothead, was embarrassingly trounced in a fight he picked. (Technically he got a few good punches thrown in the first fight.) He was hissing and spitting from the penalty box after nearly having his jersey stripped in the 2nd fight, while I was thinking he should stop while he’s ahead…or at least still conscious. I’m more humiliated by the fights than the game, since I’m quite used to the Lightning losing. Actually they’ve never been very good with their fists either, so I think I’ll slink off now and talk about something else….

So! How ’bout that storm this morning? We had a freak hurricane-like storm that ended up stranding me at home. I stopped to get gas and luckily was only a few miles from home when hell broke loose. The wind suddenly picked up and hurled water and anything else it could pick up, and gas even flew up into my eyes, which I assume is not healthy. I was soaked, like I just stood in the shower fully clothed, and visibility was nil. A tornado warning was issued for our area, so Gary and I hibernated at home for the afternoon. I changed into dry clothes, snuggled against him, and went back to sleep for a bit. What is it about sleeping during a thunderstorm that is so heavenly? Must be the comfort level of “Glad I’m in here and not out there.” Even the cats huddled up on the bed with us and snuggled close.

We needed today, more than we even realized. A day by ourselves, with no to-do lists, nothing to worry about, discuss, strategize; nowhere to go; just a day with nothing to focus on but us. And the best part? Our day is only half over!

Digg!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in embarrassing fights, Flyers, Lightning suck, rain, storm. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Lightning Suck

  1. furiousBall says:

    Andre just got tagged in that second fight. Riles just got him with those two quick lefts and boom! he dropped like a sack of potatoes! I feel bad for the Lightining, they are in a bad spot now from the salary cap. They did resign Boyle and I think getting Jussi was a really nice move (although losing Richards sucks).

  2. Mister-M says:

    The funny thing is… I rolled over to youtube and it seems that every… single… time… these two teams get together… Cote and Roy fight. Usually twice. At least.It made me laugh.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

