Playing Hookey and Kids’ Clothes

Have you ever enjoyed cheesecake, sitting up and laughing in bed? I highly recommend it. Our “playing hookey” day yesterday turned out to be a lot of fun, and something I definitely think needs to be pencilled in on a more regular basis. It stormed most of the day, which added to the cozy feel inside, and when the electricity flickered off, we lit candles and just snuggled.

When the rain eased up, we headed out for dinner and then shopped for clothes for the kids. This task is necessary roughly every few weeks, minimum, as they seem to instantly outgrow any article of clothing the moment it touches their flesh. It almost makes it seem like a reasonable fiscal decision to have a baby so there is someone to grow into the clothes they can no longer wear, since the cats won’t wear them. (I’ve tried.) I love simple things like picking out the kids’ clothes with Gary, and even trips to Walmart end up with us laughing (and drawing amused smiles) as we roam the aisles and toss roughly 50 more items into the cart than we had on our list, causing us to exchange “What did you buy?” glances at the register. Grocery shopping is another matter, however. I hate grocery shopping and no one, not even a hockey player, not even Marty St. Louis, could accompany me to the grocery store and convince me there is a shred of fun in the chore.

It’s obvious some designers of children’s clothes have never even met a little person under the age of 55, and certainly never observed typical behavior of the youngling crowd. Ummm….white pants for a kid not even 2 years old yet? Do these designers also own stock in bleach and laundry detergent and stain sticks (and Aleve)? And shirts with ties that actually need to remain tied in order to keep the child from being stark naked, yet within easy reach of busy little fingers…not a good design for a young child, nor are cutesy little hats that perfectly match the outfit but would be plucked from the head approximately 2.7 seconds after being perfectly arranged on the little noggin, examined briefly, then cast dismissively into a bush somewhere. Not surprisingly, most of this silliness in design was exclusive to little girls’ clothes, though I did spot one of those awful sweater-vest-and-bowtie-dress-pants outfits for a little boy and involuntarily twitched in sympathetic pain for any pitiful little boy forced to wear such a wretchedly nerdy ensemble.

Gary spent today with Dove, who hopefully was not dressed in a bowtie or sweater vest or perky hat, and I am looking forward to hearing all about their day when he gets home. Dove is a lively, loving, and very smart little girl, and it makes me smile (to myself, when he’s not looking) how she can wrap her daddy tightly around her little finger with a smile, a kiss, or a hug….all quite effortlessly!

Let’s recap:

Just say NO. Please.

Always fashionable, any season, for boys or girls of discriminating taste!
Digg!
About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in clothes, kids, love, playing hookey. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Playing Hookey and Kids’ Clothes

  1. Mister-M says:

    I thought when you wrote “hookey” – that you donned the gear and grabbed some sticks and hit the local arena, stating so with your best text French-Canadian accent.But alas… the poost wasn’t aboot pooting the pook in the net.

  2. Stephanie says:

    I LOVE playing hookey. Glad you had a great day of it, even if you did succumb to the Wal-Mart, never less than 300 items in your cart, rule. I think it’s a mind-meld trick they do right as you walk through the door! πŸ™‚

  3. Mrs. H says:

    Hey fellow hockey nut-Husband and I have tickets to the Wings game tomorrow afternoon—they’re playing Nashville.My beloved wings have been sucking it up lately, but I am super fired up about being on a date with Husband AND watching hockey AND drinking beer!We have awesome seats—-7th row!(Sorry, for posting here, but I needed to brag to someone who would be as fired up about this as I am!)Take Care!

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    I thought the Wings were doing well. Congrats on the seats! I always lose my voice when I see a game live. I’m slightly more refined watching it on TV, well, depending who is over πŸ™‚

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  6. Just wait until Sunflower is 7, 8, 9. Little girl clothes turn into either “ehh, boring”, or “OMG, that is little girl hooker wear”.

  7. Mrs. H says:

    They’re still first in their division, but they had a losing streak there for awhile.I don’t know who is going to be in net today—–hopefully Osgood.

  8. Smirking Cat says:

    You haven’t seen a losing streak until you root for the Lightning! Hey, they are already last in the NHL. At least they can’t get WORSE, right?

  9. I know. I made the mistake of buying the most adorable little dress for Funshine when we first went to buy clothes for the kids- and she’s worn it exactly once in the last five months. Duh, me. Give her jeans or corduroys and a t-shirt any day of the week.

  10. furiousBall says:

    nothing goes better with everything than goalie pads, that’s what i wear every night

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

