The Balabusta has spoken

Why, it certainly is a shanda how the Lightning lost yet again last night, this time to the Pittsburgh Penguins…and if you’re not quite hip enough to know what a shanda is, then you haven’t been reading the Word of the Day (see the right column of this blog, about halfway down). Now, we all know how I love to be a balabusta (“bossy woman”, for those not in the know), so I expect everyone to use the word “shanda” at least once in conversation today. Don’t be a pisher. Extra credit for using it in your blog post!

Isn’t it cool to find your blog affectionately mentioned in new places? That’s a definite plus to using Clicky and other programs to glimpse where visitors are coming from. The Smirking Cat made unannounced guest appearances on No Stupid Answers for my research on pathological liars, and my recommended divorce gifts made an honorable mention on Family Lore. Thanks to these bloggers for the tip-of-the-hat; it’s an honor!

I would be more than a little fercockt if I didn’t wish everyone a great weekend, well, once the 8-hour-mandatory-but-senseless workday sentence has been served. I have many reasons to be excited to start this weekend, not the least of which being that Dove will grace our home with her presence tomorrow. I better warn Tweetie that his biggest fan is coming over. He might want to preen, make himself presentable.

Go ahead, leave a comment trying out your new Yiddish talents!

Digg!
About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Pittsburgh Penguins, shanda, Tampa Bay Lightning suck, Yiddish phrases. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Balabusta has spoken

  1. furiousBall says:

    this hit me right in my schmuck

  2. Lynda says:

    I love hockey, but since my team, the Coyotes, are no longer even playoff contenders the play has gotten rather boring. Yawn…

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    My team gave up playoff hopes a long, long time ago! I didn’t even watch the entire game last night because I already knew they were going to lose.

  4. Josh says:

    Haha… Kind of like being a TX Rangers fan… Anyways, thanks for stopping by my blog. Yours looks great! Take care!

  5. One of the greatest words of all time = FERCOCKT. Oy vey! 🙂

  6. between3boys says:

    I’m accepting your challenge to blog with my newly acquired Yiddish skillz. Bwa ha ha ha! Will probably post Tuesday – with the move just 2 days (!!!) away, I am setting up auto-post so I don’t blow Blog 365. Woot! As always, entertaining and pretty damn funny. 😉

  7. blueydmuse says:

    I’m just a shiksa but this post really reminded me of my Grandma. My whole family is from Queens, so there’s a lot of Yiddish floating around in my vocabulary – much more than I realized until I looked at the dictionary!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

