Old Houses

Yesterday afternoon, Gary and I got a bug into our heads to take a spontaneous mini-road-trip to look at houses.

I love houses, but not brand-new, sterile, paint-still-drying, no-personality houses. I love old houses, and usually, the older the better, with years of stories and memories wrapped up in the scratches on the wood floor, handprints on the faded walls, worn treads on the steps.

This is one way (one of the very few ways) in which I am very traditional: I love building a comfy, attractive, neat home, a refuge at the end of the day, a sanctuary from the outer world. Even when I had absolutely nothing, my first apartment was immaculate and creatively put together, and I was surprised when I got a lot of compliments on my tiny studio apartment with cast-off furniture mixed with plants (LOTS of plants) and items I customized or fixed up myself to fit into the space.

I am drawn to houses that nature has slowly begun reclaiming, blurring the lines, ivy scrambling up the walls, gardens sprawling unchecked, a home waiting in the greenery to be discovered and lovingly coaxed back into its glory. I used to live near a run-down shack of a house with a stubborn glint of beauty in its eye, and I’m happy someone else saw it too. It was slowly restored to a gorgeous home, and I loved watching it unfold, transform, one nail and one board and one hammer strike at a time.

I am happiest when I am playing in the dirt and talking to my plants in a garden, rearranging a room, planning ideas in my head for the kids’ rooms, taking something mainstay and making it my own, ours, the family’s. I want our home to reflect our crazy blend of personalities and quirks, and so far I think it does (after some broken furniture and revisiting the drawing board!) Batman mixed with Sponge Bob, bass fishing, yellow ducks, Power Rangers, leopard print (guess whose leopard print?), and a teething ring in the fridge…you won’t see a mix like that gloriously displayed in a slick, glitzy interior decorating magazine, but it wraps all of us up into a home, a family, and I love that.

*Photo courtesy of A Different View*

Digg!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in decorating, houses, old house, remodeling, restoration. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Old Houses

  1. Heidi says:

    Ever since I was little my parent’s would con us into looking at houses. And now I am also struck with the gene. I love looking at houses – houses for sale, model homes.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    I love empty houses, especially if they look recently abandoned. They hold a mix of stories to tell plus potential.

  3. Stephanie says:

    I love the history of old houses. We have fun driving through the countryside, looking at old houses, and making up stories that might have gone with them. The kids are very creative when it comes to making up those stories.

  4. SomeOne says:

    I love old houses, old dishes, old linens, and especially old books! I would love to buy an old house and restore it. That would be so awesome!

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    It’s exciting to see a house come alive again. I had a house once that needed some TLC, and when I pulled back the ugly carpet just to see what was there, I discovered gorgeous hardwood floors! Who the hell would cover hardwood floors with ugly carpet??? I spent the day gleefully tearing out carpet 🙂

  6. Mister-M says:

    Oooh! Thanks for the reminder. DW and I are the same way and would often stop to look at old houses and properties in our travels.With the weather coming around… we’ll have to make a point of getting back into that fun and interesting habit.

  7. Lydia says:

    Ooh! I love old houses. I lived in Vermont for many years in a house built in the mid 1800s. there wasnt a single flat surface or straight line, but the place was amazing. and very organic–it had rooms added on to it to accommodate whatever family lived there, and we had a two-story barn with horses stables in it. so much history…so amazingly cool!

  8. Anonymous says:

    i hope u dnt mind i used this pic on pinterest..please follow:)

    Lolo_fosho

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

