Scamper is the Word of the Day

Miraculously, the Lightning beat the Hurricanes last night, 2-1, in an interesting and highly amusing game. Between Tarnasky’s “wanna fight?” attitude all night, swaggering about with his mouth guard clamped between his teeth, glowering menacingly at everyone who looked semi-ready to take a swing; St. Louis’ attack on the Hurricane goalie’s genitals, smack-smack-smack, after Ward stopped the puck between his legs; the checks, the saves, all of it…a great game.

Karri Ramo had a career-high 38 saves, including one leap into the air in the final moments of the game to stop a potentially game-tying puck. His performance was even more impressive considering the propensity of the Hurricanes to sit on his head, perch on his torso, and make themselves comfy on any available body part. The Hurricanes only drew one penalty for interference, but there should have been more. When he was named Player of the Game, he tossed his stick into the crowd. He definitely earned the applause last night. He drops to the ice and uses his legs like those pinball machine flappers to block the puck.

At one point, when Marty St. Louis had the puck, the announcer proclaimed “….and St. Louis scampers over with the puck!” I yelled, “What? Did he just say Marty scampers?”

Scampers?

No one scampers in hockey! C’mon, he may be short, he may be little, but for god’s sake, St. Louis isn’t a hamster or a gerbil! He wasn’t scampering!

Once Gary smelled blood and realized I really, really didn’t like the scampering comment, then “scamper” became the word of the night. “Look, Marty is scampering with the puck again! Come on, Marty, scamper over there and make a shot…did you see him scamper?”

Oh, har-har. I didn’t realize I was living with a side-splitting comedian.

I had planned on watching that game with the kids, and it would have been a fun one, especially with the jokes about Marty and how wound up I get when the game is close. They’d have liked laughing at me and chiming in with 1000 Ways to Use the Word Scamper. I hope they know we miss them and can’t wait to see them. None of this is their fault, has ever been their fault.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Carolina Hurricanes, celebrity hockey, scampering, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Scamper is the Word of the Day

  1. *Tucks tail between legs and wanders into a corner to lick wounds*This is what I get for talking smack…. I’ll be sure to wait until after we win next time…

  2. furiousBall says:

    If anyone in hockey <>could<> scamper, it would be Marty. He’s pretty nimble on those skates and he’s just a little taller than a hamster.

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    Eh, I see there is another comedian in our midst! Ha ha. They also introduced the Hurricanes goalie first, then said “And the other guy…” to introduce Ramo…at a HOME game! I had a fit about that too.

  4. Yup, I gotta toss my two pennies out here too and agree that IF anyone in hockey today *could* scamper, it’d be Marty on his tiny widdle skates… Picture it… Marty scampering about with the puck as Vinny looks on, puzzled. Ya know, think of how many situations that you could end the story with “as Vinny looks on, puzzled” lol, just sayin. 🙂 Smitty – he cant so much scamper. He is, however, a scamp. Discuss amongst yo’selves. 🙂

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    Dear Marty St. Louis:Please forgive me for laughing at the mental image of you as a hamster on skates. I could not control myself.

  6. blueydmuse says:

    Have you ever heard the guy who does the commentary for the Crapitals? I think his name is Craig something… anyway, my ex thought this guy was a little “light in the loafers” if you know what I mean. Any time we heard him talking it was just hysterical because it sounded like the guy was getting really excited about the game from a different perspective… i.e “he SLAMS him into the wall” and my ex would say “ooh baby”…I think this is definitely losing something in the written translation, but hopefully you’ll get a laugh anyway.

  7. Smirking Cat says:

    I did! I’ve never heard that particular commentator…sounds like I would remember him.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

