Family

Yesterday, while I was out with Gary and the kids, a woman who seemed to have been watching us wandered over, smiling, and told us, “It’s wonderful to see a family who enjoys each other.” I looked over at Gary, who had Sunflower tucked up under one arm and Wolverine attached to the other, while Bear and I were pretending he was turning me into different animals (I believe I was a ferocious dinosaur at the time this woman wandered over), and I had to smile too.

Another reason to smile: yesterday morning I was running late, so Gary helped me pack my lunch at breakneck speed. He was in charge of tossing some Nilla Wafers into a sandwich bag, and he asked me how many I wanted. I glanced at the side of the box and said, “Well, the box says a serving size is 7…so 7 it is.”

This morning, as he was helping me pack my lunch again, as running late is essentially a daily routine for me, he asked, “So…did you notice?”

“Notice what?”

He looked sort of hurt. “I gave you 8 yesterday instead of 7.”

I took the time to slow down and give him a hug for that one.

*photo courtesy of alynappies.com*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in family, hugs, kids, love. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Family

  1. Mister-M says:

    SC,Isn’t that the coolest experience? I’ll share one…While travelling with all of the children (my 2, DW’s 2) we make a pitstop at a large rest stop that has one of our favorite pizza joints – Sbarros.Our kids are really well behaved when we go out. Thank God.We put them all in a booth and tell them to behave while DW & I go up and order a couple of pies.All through dinner (unbeknownst to us), an older couple (perhaps late 60s, early 70s) had been observing all of this.As I moved to clean the table and dispose of our trash, they approach me and say, <>We just wanted to tell you how amazing is was to watch your wonderful family at dinner tonight. They’re all so well-behaved and it was a pleasure to see.<>With that, he reaches up and stuffs something in my shirt pocket and says, <>This is for you.<><>HE SLIPPED A $20 BILL INTO MY SHIRT POCKET!<>I laughed and approached him telling him that it wasn’t necessary and tried to hand it back. He waved me off and said that he had hoped we enjoyed our dinner as much as he and his wife did.I’ll never forget it and we were so proud.If only they knew! LOL… j/kThanks for the reminder, Cat – that memory always puts a smile on my face!

  2. furiousBall says:

    I like Gary. That was good stuff.

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    It was a very cool experience, very affirming after all the lies and accusations made against us. What is funny is that Gary has been approached before about how great he is with the kids, and one time was in the town where lies have been spread all over, how horrible he is, what a drunk and abuser he is, the usual fodder, and when the man who complimented Gary on being such a great father finally introduced himself and got Gary’s name, his jaw literally dropped! Gary just shook his hand, said “Yep, it’s me, the one you’ve heard all about”, and went back to the kids. A little lesson in not believing everything you hear, especially from a vengeful, jealous individual.

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    Furiousball: I kinda like Gary too ๐Ÿ™‚Oh, and I did notice that there were 8 Nilla Wafers today too!

  5. FeministGal says:

    Gary seems awesome ๐Ÿ™‚If you find 6 wafers one day, you’ll know something’s up ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Heidi says:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Totally loving this story.

  7. Dijea says:

    I love that Gary gave you 8. I teared up. I might actually cry. OH GOODNESS, I think my hormones are off.

  8. SomeOne says:

    What a sweetie-the wafers, and especially the guy! Gary so rocks!!!

  9. Alysa says:

    awwww… Gary’s sweet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. cassee01 says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww – you are a lucky gal.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

