Shift

If I hope that something good must come of this, then let it be this:

*I will never again watch the news, read the paper, or hear of someone who has been arrested, and make snap judgments as if I know the person or their life situation, or their character or heart.

*I will discover strength I had no clue I had, hidden deep somewhere I didn’t know to look, and surprise myself at what I can endure and keep going.

*I will never, ever take for granted another moment with Gary, or with anyone I love.

*My compassion for others and ability to listen without judging will grow wings and make me a better person.

*I will learn what is truly important. Things I used to spend so much time on, checking my blog stats, things that seem so painfully trivial now, used to feel so meaningful. Compared to what I have lost–Gary being here, spending time with him, watching him with the kids–anything else never really mattered, but I lacked the wisdom to see that.

*I have learned that I have the greatest friends and blog friends anyone could have, and my heart swells with gratitude for the help of my friends, the phone calls offering any assistance, the emails encouraging me to hang in there, the comments here that let me know I’m really not alone.

*I will keep the United States Post Office in business with all the stamps I will use, writing letters and pouring my heart onto paper so he knows how much I love him and miss him, and that I’m right here waiting.

*That none of us, not me, not you, ever really know what it is like to be in someone else’s shoes, their lives, their heart, and understand what they are going through…that judging someone is a luxury of one who has not suffered.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in gratitude, judgment, learn something, love. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shift

  1. Keep hanging in there, okay? I am wishing for the best for you and Gary.

  2. blueydmuse says:

    Hang in there… we’re all thinking about you.

  3. lucky13 says:

    you are so right in your words. but don’t let the fact that you lived your life make you feel that what you were doing wasn’t important. this has just expanded your world view. i am thinking about you.

  4. astepmomssay says:

    God tests us for our own good. We rarely see His purpose when we are “knee deep” in what He is putting us through.Hang tough.You’re in my prayers.

  5. KiKi says:

    I’m almost embarrassed by the amount I’ll be able to give – but I know every little bit will help so count me in on the donations.You’ve shared some good insight just now. Good luck with everything, and keep us posted.

  6. SC, You are strong. Keep being strong. It isn’t easy but nothing worth much in life is easy. Hopefully things will begin to improve soon. You are in my thoughts. Sincerely, ANB

  7. I wish I could help you monetarily but unfortunately all I have to offer is my “blog friend” support. It doesnt seem like much, I know, but I am pulling for you guys and have you in my thoughts. 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

