My Day

Happy Earth Day…and happy birthday to a certain blogging cat who shall go nameless, but who clings to her Tampa Bay Lightning even though they are the worst team ever! (Next year…I tell you, next year…they will take the Cup.)

I actually will be spending my birthday evening with the kids, a McDonald’s picnic in the park, no less. I joked with Sunflower that since she didn’t tell me what she wanted to eat, I would order her a broccoli and cauliflower sandwich. Quick on the draw, she called my bluff and informed me that was what she wanted anyway. She laughed triumphantly, then paused and hesitantly asked, “McDonald’s doesn’t really have that, do they?” I assured her they don’t serve yukky vegetable sandwiches…but that I could get a green bean milkshake instead.

It took me a while to remember today is my birthday. I wake up with my head churning and grinding and spinning, full of thoughts and worries and plans. I miss Gary.

I am looking forward to seeing the kids. And maybe…if I have a spare moment…I will hit the grocery store and see if I can whip up a broccoli and cauliflower sandwich!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in birthday, Earth Day, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Day

  1. Happy Birthday!!!I hope you have a great day, and can enjoy your time with the kids.

  2. Ash says:

    Happy Birthday! I wish you happiness and tranquility. Enjoy your day, with many more happy days in the future. πŸ™‚

  3. happy earf day! happy bday too! πŸ™‚enjoy micky dees! πŸ˜€

  4. Heather says:

    Happy Birthday! May the coming year bring you more wisdom and many blessings!

  5. **** says:

    Happy Happy Birthday to you!-d

  6. lyndaspix says:

    Happy Birthday!! I’m glad you have some fun planned and hope you have the best time with the kids. I know you miss your sweetheart a lot today, as you do every day you’re not with him. I am praying that things will go well for both of you. That would be the best birthday present of all!!

  7. lyndaspix says:

    Happy Birthday!! I’m glad you have some fun planned and hope you have the best time with the kids. I know you miss your sweetheart a lot today, as you do every day you’re not with him. I am praying that things will go well for both of you. That would be the best birthday present of all!!

  8. Lydia says:

    Happy birthday! I love threatening children with veggies. πŸ˜‰

  9. Little Wren says:

    Happy birthday! Hope you have a great time with the kids.

  10. Happy Birthday To My Favorite Smirking Cat!

  11. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope it was great and fabulous and all the things you deserve!

  12. Sungold says:

    Happy birthday – and my warmest wishes for good days soon.Hugs,Sungold

  13. Lacey says:

    Happy Birthday…I’m late by 27 minutes…sorry! πŸ™‚

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

