The Joys of Moving

*bleary-eyed peek around my office*

What, for the love of god, am I doing at work today? At this hour? What happened to the weekend? All I remember is a grueling whirl of cardboard boxes, sweat, manual labor, and moving things from place to place, only to discover that my crap multiplied while my back was turned. I had to restrain myself from dumping everything into the trash or the nearest dumpster, simply to never have to deal with it or move it again!

The cats are writing their Congress-people to voice their displeasure about moving again so abruptly. They didn’t get to choose a place with wide-load windowsills for their sunbeam-filled naps or plush carpets for yet more naps. Shame on me!

It is very difficult, at times like this, to believe or even grasp that someday my life will be normal again. Right now I am taking each day as it comes and appreciating everyone who has helped so much. Even my ungrateful, spoiled cats would say “thank you” if they could only come out from under the bed and stop trying to make me feel guilty for moving them again!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cats, moving, tired. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Joys of Moving

  1. Cats are so ungrateful sometimes. 😉 It’s all part of their charm. I feel your workday blues!

  2. Hope things are going as well as they can go. Moving is such a pain…

  3. lyndaspix says:

    No guilt!! Your kitties will adjust, you will adjust, the kids will adjust. Life will be normal again, someday. I went through something similar a few years ago when someone I love was in jail for over three months. It was work release, but I had to pick that person up every weekday morning and take them back every evening after work. And in the remainder of the year there were more “things” that had to be done. And lots of money that had to be spent in order to keep things as normal as possible and to keep this person from going back to jail. Now we’re about 7 years past that and we have a whole new normal that is really good. And you (and the kitties) will find a new normal, too. I’m still praying for you guys!

  4. Naomi says:

    dear smirking cat, I found your blog when I was googling “blog stalkers” looking for some insight (’cause I have one, a BS that is, not an insight) and really enjoyed your post on the topic, so I’m linking to it and just thought I’d say hello here because: great blog!and about the moving, hey, it sucks – I’m about to be doing the same and you have all my sympathy!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

