Mystery Science Theater 3000

Anyone else remember the grand classic of comedy known as Mystery Science Theater 3000? I became an instant, die-hard fan after one episode of rolling on the floor, cracking up, though I have to admit the side-splitting laughter effect is much stronger on me than others with whom I have shared this gem of a show. (I’ve always suspected these other individuals simply have no sense of humor, or else they are the sort who chuckle at, say, Hee Haw.)

Netflix graciously brought me “Touch of Satan” recently, quite possibly the most hilarious episode of MST3 in existence. I used to have this particular episode on tape, worn out from repeatedly watching it and laughing, but it disappeared along with a large majority of my belongings after my divorce in a previous life. (My ex was one of the afore-mentioned deviant cretins who did not find MST3 particularly funny, so we were clearly doomed from the start.) No matter, this particular episode is now sitting on my desk at home, waiting for me to pop it into the DVD player and start laughing uncontrollably.

My favorite character, Mike Nelson, has taken up the blogging habit at RiffTrax, with intellectual deep thoughts regarding the world’s longest strip of bacon, fur seals wooing penguins, and other important matters that we hold dear to our hearts.

MST3 is one of those inexplicable, bizarre creations that is so difficult to describe exactly what is so funny, but it is immensely amusing nonetheless. Now I wish I brought the DVD to work, so I could goof off and watch it here, ummm, I mean, so I could work hard and anticipate watching it later, after all my chores are done.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Mike Nelson, Mystery Science Theater 3000. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mystery Science Theater 3000

  1. Mister-M says:

    I didn’t watch it a lot, but when I did watch, I usually came close to peeing myself laughing. Though, and this is taxing my memory, I remember an initial iteration of the show which was followed by a new format and hosts. Am I remembering correctly?If I am… the very first go-round of this show was, IMO, far funnier than the later years.

  2. Dijea says:

    YES! I’m not alone. I feel so much better. I totally love MST.

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    I’m more familiar with the episodes with Mike Nelson (vs. with Joel). I think Mike Nelson is hilarious, but I want to check out some of the earlier ones too, since I have heard they are really funny.

  4. furiousBall says:

    MST3K was the best, i still haven’t seen the movie

  5. I had totally forgotten about that show! I loved it!! I’m going to look it up on Amazon!!

  6. astepmomssay says:

    I am a huge fan.When I was in college, I actually went and saw it on the college tour on my campus. I was one of the dorks that was close enough to the front of the line to get a free t-shirt!

  7. D says:

    I think you might like this:http://www.rifftrax.comIn fact, I guarantee it.To quote the site:<>RiffTrax.com is an innovative site featuring the hilarious DVD commentaries of Michael J. Nelson – Star of the legendary Mystery Science Theater 3000! At RiffTrax.com, you can download feature-length commentaries by Mike (plus other stars of MST3K and guest celebrities) and listen to these “RiffTrax” in sync with your favorite, and not so favorite DVDs.<>

  8. D says:

    Oh, for the love of…That’s what I get for skimming.I could have sworn you didn’t mention Rifftrax.Upon re-reading it, you did.Yeah. You can just go ahead and not bother approving that comment, lest I look really, really stupid. 😛

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

