Know Anyone Like This?

“Who knows himself a braggart, Let him fear this; for it will come to pass
That every braggart shall be found an ass.” –William Shakespeare, All’s Well That Ends Well

“A coward, a most devout coward; religious in it.” –William Shakespeare

“Hatred is the coward’s revenge for being intimidated.” –George Bernard Shaw

“Dishonesty, cowardice and duplicity are never impulsive.” –George A. Knight

“A coward gets scared and quits. A hero gets scared, but still goes on.” –Source Unknown

I don’t expect much of people anymore. I have seen far too much, watched people behave shamefully yet take pride in their indecence, and my standards are abysmally low. Yet still people manage to disappoint me.

All I expect is the same as I give others. I won’t smile to your face then whisper about you behind your back. If I don’t like you, you will know it, loud and clear. I won’t lie because I don’t need to. I am not ashamed of anything I have done, or my life, or my choices. If you are living lie to lie, as certain people I know are, chances are you are a reprehensible varmin, vainly trying to hide your stinking trail of slime.

Cowards disgust me, and I know far too many of them. My favorite quote above is “Hatred is the coward’s revenge for being intimidated”. It made me smile because the most vicious, hateful attitudes I receive are from people who would do well to acquire some of the traits they claim to despise in me (honesty, frankness, directness).

Ah, cowards. They will always be amongst us, slithering, spitting out lies and venom, refusing to accept that others have them all figured out and are hardly impressed.

Do any of these quotes remind you of anyone, or do you have any quotes to add?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cowards, honesty, liars, quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Know Anyone Like This?

  1. katesaltfleet says:

    “Kate’s frankness nauseates me” (overheard when I was about 15)Sadly I know far too many people who slither about, pulling the wool over others’ eyes. This trait is praised in our society, the attitude that it’s ok to behave like this as long as you are devious enough to put on a public front of decency.

  2. lucky13 says:

    i have been disappointed by people’s dishonesty and cowardice far too many times to mention. I agree with you wholeheartedly. Never let anyone take that wonderful quality away from you. I will never back down from the truth. It’s too important to me…and here’s my favorite quote, indirectly applies to what you’ve posted:don’t compromise yourself, you’re all you’ve got – Janis Joplin.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

