Enough Said

“Love is much like a wild rose, beautiful and calm, but willing to draw blood in its defense.”Mark Overby

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in fight, love, protection, rose. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Enough Said

  1. Sungold says:

    How ’bout substituting “cat” for “rose” in that quote? It works perfectly!

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Not as poetic, but much more realistic!

  3. D says:

    Nothing personal, I’ve just never been a fan of the various “love is…(insert loose analogy here)” quotes.They always seem so empty, understated, and somewhat false, or at least, incredibly simplistic.If that makes sense. It does in my head.

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    I like this one because the protective element of love for a lover, a family member, a child, is generally missing from the sappy portrayals of love we are bombarded with. I learned long ago that part of love is having each other’s back.

  5. D says:

    No, what I meant was, oh, shoot.I’m trying to think of the right way to phrase it.I think it’s more that it’s bothersome, because when they say “Love is…”, well, “love”, isn’t anything at all.You can’t really say it’s this one certain thing, and if it isn’t, well, then it’s not love, or whatever.Unreasonable expectations, I guess.They just seem so oversimplified, and they always have some note of sappiness to them.You don’t ever see any lovely poetry saying that it’s a pile of old trash that nothing fruitful comes out of. 😛

  6. Pam says:

    How can you describe love without comparing it to something everyone understands. Not a “Love Is” thing… but if someone asked you “What is love like?” How would you respond? I think, quite like this. It’s like a wild rose….

  7. D says:

    <>How can you describe love without comparing it to something everyone understands. Not a “Love Is” thing… but if someone asked you “What is love like?” How would you respond? I think, quite like this. It’s like a wild rose….<>I don’t think I’d compare it to a wild rose, really.I wouldn’t have anything favorable or pleasant to say about it at all, honestly.Like I was saying, it’s just all very subjective.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

