Self Destructing in 1…2…

Why?

Why do people find thrill, entertainment value, and glee in other people’s hardships and suffering? Nothing draws a crowd like a car wreck, and nothing sets jaws flapping like a tasty, gruesome news story for people to bond to over the water cooler, to gossip viciously as they escape their apparently meaningless lives in order to chew on someone else’s.

Why do people allow inexcusable things to happen right in front of them, their lips cemented shut and their limbs apparently impotent? So many times I have been the only one willing to admit I hear, see, or know something, and the only one willing to step forward and take action. How has cowardice become so rampant as to be the standard? After I’ve done what everyone else should have, I am told, “You are so strong! You are so brave!” No. I am simply not afraid to do what’s right. That’s basic humanity. It’s a shame so many are so lacking.

Why do people lie instead of take responsibility for what they have done? Okay, I can answer that one myself. Because they’re miserable, spineless cowards who want to duck responsibility and don’t care a shred for anything or anyone but their pathetic, morally rotting selves. Maybe the better question is, why the hell does anyone let them get away with it, or even assist in their games?

Why does it seem violently impossible for most people to sincerely consider what life is like for someone else, to acknowledge that other people have feelings separate from theirs, minds that process information differently, hearts that want something more, something else…and is no less valid because it’s different from theirs?

Why is beating someone down so much more a priority than helping someone up?

Why are so many people so focused on insulting, criticizing, and spitting on someone else, to the absolute neglect of introspection and self-improvement?

How can there be so much enjoyment in hate and spite, and so much pride in being the cause of anyone else’s pain? How can the blood-stained smile drip off their faces and not reveal the ugly, rotting sores of their perverse decay? How can they still deny their own stench?

Most agonizing…why the hell do I still care about people and still fiercely want to make the world a better place when everywhere I turn, people are self-destructing on their volition and are quite snidely pleased with being the rotten shits they are?

I admit to my faults, yet I try to be a good person and take care of those around me. That is my hope. I still care, so someone else must too.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cowards, liars, making the world a better place, people suck. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Self Destructing in 1…2…

  1. Ash says:

    Cheer up, Lady M… there are others who still care. 🙂 But I do admit though, here in KL, whenever an accident occurs there will be a massive traffic jam. Not because people are stopping to help but they are stopping there to ogle! Now that sucks, too!!

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Thanks, Ash! There are definitely times when it is hard to see the good that people do.

  3. -d says:

    Very interesting post!I’ll have to dwell on this one for awhile.Thanks for making me think.-d

  4. between3boys says:

    Sometimes I think we have to care too much to make up for all the asshats that don’t… It’s a tough job, but someone’s gotta do it, right?Right!

  5. lyndaspix says:

    I think that the people who really count do care. And those are the people you should surround yourself with. Those who think the world revolves around them, well, they are sick and sad. I’m having more and more trouble feeling sorry for them, too.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

