Ooh, That’s Got to Sting

Two shut-outs in a row! What’s the matter, Pittsburgh Pretty Boys? What happened to Sidney’s magic touch? It sure wasn’t racking up any points or stopping any Red Wing pucks.

I’d like to see 2 more shut-outs and just wrap this up, but maybe actually letting the Penguins score would make a somewhat more interesting game for the fans, so I’ll concede. I never thought I’d root for the Red Wings, but intense dislike for Crosby will make a person do stranger things, I suppose.

Is anyone out there still cheering for Pittsburgh? It’s not over yet, of course, which is the beauty of the play-offs.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in celebrity hockey, Detroit Red Wings, NHL Stanley Cup, Pittsburgh Penguins. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ooh, That’s Got to Sting

  1. Mister-M says:

    Did you happen to see the video of Fleury falling flat on his face as he was coming out onto the ice for Game 1? (Or at least, I think it was Game 1.)Could have been foreshadowing.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Missed that! I can’t pick on goalies though. It’s against my beliefs 🙂

  3. furiousBall says:

    i hope the wings shut out the pens and sweep them

  4. astepmomssay says:

    I’m loving every second of it!!When I was a little girl, I wanted a Red Wings Jersey so bad. I wanted a Bob Probert one. Well, I never got one. (I know, it’s child abuse). So on Saturday I bought one. I have proudly watched the past two games in my new Lidstrom jersey.I kind of laughed when Fleury bit it on the way out of the locker room—but then immediately felt bad for the guy. How horrifying!Crosby is a big cry baby—and I think someone needs to kick RooTu’s ass. If I see one more guy try and hit Franzen in the head—-That aside, Pittsburgh is going to be a force to be reckoned with in the coming years. They’re young and talented.I’m looking forward to a parade sometime soon….. 😉

  5. go pens! I love Mario Lemieux (still owns part of the team) and Georges Laraque (even tho he’s not played yet in this series)… plus, it will be a VERY cold day in hell before I root for Detroit. 🙂 I’m not big on Cindy either but I’ll take him over the likes of Drake, Draper, Holmstrom and Chelios any day. Fleury needs to wake his ass up and quick though! Or maybe put Conklin in for a game? He use to play for the GB Gamblers so I kinda like him. Handing Osgood these shutouts is making me physically ill. Detroit is just a mega power house this year though so in a way, I just want it to be over. *grumble*

  6. Malone “hit” Franzen in the head… kinda fitting since Malone took a major pounding from Hatcher in the conf final. And it was barely a hit at all, it was more of a glove smack out of frustration. Franzen yelped like a piddling puppy ala Chris Osgood so Malone went to the box. Its hockey, not ballet..If Franzen is that much of a delicate lil flower he should be sitting and not skating. The Wings have a bad habit of coming off their feet when they hit too so it all works out in the end. Both teams will get pounded on at least a little. It is to be expected. Jarko Rutuu has been pretty subdued this series compared to what he’s usually like hahaha

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

