Hell, It’s Monday

One day, in the dim, distant past, an abysmal decision was etched in stone without my enlightening input, and that pivotal decision was: hey, let’s have 4 hour meetings on Mondays that are scheduled smack over lunch time so everyone is ready to gnaw on their own limbs by the time this hell finally wraps up! And so it was done. Ye.

I suppose there are 2 perspectives on this. One, the chipper, look-on-the-bright-side, perky perspective is that at least 2 unbearable features of the week (Monday, and this meeting) are done and over with on the same day. The other, more grumpy-because-I-had-to-get-up-too-damn-early perspective (and the one that more closely my immediate thoughts) is, who the hell made that imbecilic decision? Why sap everyone’s will to live right from the rip on a Monday morning when my “I am going to bed early!” vows landed nowhere near their mark, and I will have to fight like crazy to stay awake as we rehash things we already talked about and supposedly made decisions on already; wander so far off topic we need a compass and a trail guide to draw us back; and I run out of caffeine in the first 15 minutes, with a manager who doesn’t believe in coffee breaks, bathroom breaks, or any breaks at all until 4 hours later when we all burst out of the room, gasping for air, shaking ourselves awake, thankful we made it out alive!

All this in a conference room that apparently was designed to never rise above 40 degrees, which you may assume would help me stay awake but nay, I wrap myself up in several sheets of legal pad paper like a quilt, and it’s nap time.

Ahh….it just started raining for my morning commute. Let’s see…a long drive, work and that horrific meeting…or curling back up in bed and dozing off to the lulling sound of rain gently hitting the window outside…?

Do I need to call a 4 hour meeting to make this decision?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in meetings, Mondays, work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hell, It’s Monday

  1. furiousBall says:

    a nap/meeting, yep totally

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Nothing strikes more horror in my heart than the phrase “Monday meeting”. Zzzzzzzzz…

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

