Random

After a 3-day weekend of intense manual labor in the hot sun, these are the random factoids rattling about in my head to share with you today:

* My house came with a cat, who stations herself on the porch and meows. Loudly. I named her Crybaby.

* I can faintly hear a train from the house, and it makes me think of the song “Downbound Train” by Bruce Springsteen. Not the most cheerful ditty, but I adore that song.

* After hours of digging, raking, burying my hands in dirt, lugging tree branches big enough to build a log cabin (I exaggerate slightly…but not much), and sweating more than I thought was even humanly possible, nothing was more heavenly than a long, cold shower, my deep conditioner, and my shower radio. Ahhhhhhh…

* Yes, it is possible to endure a 3-day weekend of no Internet access and live to tell about it!

* I found myself laughing and playing with Gary on the phone, and I thought, “We’re going to be all right.” We’ve been through a lot and can still find joy in each other. That means a lot to me. Everything.

* My cats have staked out their favorite windowsills and sunbeams already. Priorities, priorities!

* Old habits die hard. I find myself walking around the house and yard thinking “I got to make sure the kids don’t play in the storage shed, because the step is kind of high…I better reorganize the plants on the porch so the kids have room to run by…”

* Once you start yard work, you simply discover new tasks to take on in the near future!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cats, houses, manual labor, random stuff, train, yard work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random

  1. “Once you start yard work, you simply discover new tasks to take on in the near future!”Exactly. But it’s so much fun!

  2. Amy says:

    I hope all with Gary is going ok!I have a yard that needs lots of work and if it ever drops below 100 degrees I might get out there and tackle it. LOL

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

