Aqua Cat

Some of my readers also share their residence with a troupe of furry feline children, and today’s post is for them. How many of you have a cat with a bizarre obsession with water?

My kitten, Sylvester (okay, he’s well over a year old, but since he fit in the palm of my hand when I got him, he is now, and will always be, my “kitten”) has a pathological fixation on water. When I am brushing my teeth, washing dishes, or especially taking a shower, Sylvester’s big, fuzzy cheeks start to vibrate with anticipation, and he heaves his fluffball body onto the counter and attempts to squeeze all 15 pounds of himself into the tiny sink, no regard to the fact that he is now completely in the way of whatever task I was trying to achieve.

This, in case you have not been introduced, is Sylvester:

I’m not sure the photo does him justice, but he is roughly the size of a small water buffalo, and loaded with enough fur for a dozen animals. Imagine a buffalo-sized hairball in your sink as you brush your teeth, or falling into the shower with you (yes, he’s done this twice, and still hasn’t learned that he lacks the grace to take a frenzied flying leap onto the ledge of the tub while a shower is in progress.)

Interestingly, this is the same cat who will react like I am inflicting Medieval torture if I even think of giving him a bath, and he will shred the flesh from my arms if I so much as try. Isn’t it the same water? It’s hilarious how hyper he gets and simply must hop into the shower as soon as I get out so he can lick the walls, pat the drain, and get his feather-duster tail soaked, but he pitches a monstrous fit about taking a bath.

Then again, Sylvester has taken quite a few knocks to his bone head, as Tweetie has never been his biggest fan and likes to demonstrate his appreciation for Sylvester’s presence by methodically whipping him across the room, off the bed, and into the ceiling fan, if he aims just right. The effect is lost, however, since Sylvester labels this abuse as “playing” and bounds back for more from Uncle Tweetie.

Sylvester is, among other things, rather “special”.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cats, Sylvester, water. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aqua Cat

  1. furiousBall says:

    Mr. E will creep into the shower with me and hide under the shower bench and meow. i have no idea why. he just does that.

  2. Many moons ago in my previous life:-) (actually it was about 15 years ago), I had a cat named Daisy. I was pregnant with my oldest son at the time and I loved to take baths. When I would lay in the bath, Daisy would tiptoe onto my pregnant belly which was above water. She would just sit there on her little island above water. It was soooo cute! However, if her paw touched water, she would get VERY annoyed. šŸ˜‰

  3. kimberlina says:

    I LOVE that picture of Sylvester! He is SUCH a ham for the camera!

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    Not-so-Normal-Mom, that is so sweet! My cats turn into gentle push-overs with the kids. It’s neat to watch.And yes, Sylvester is my GQ cat. We call the way he’s sitting in that picture his “fancy” pose. He always has his paws crossed like that.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

