Thinking

A lot has been on my mind lately, more than the usual save-the-world idealism that is always kicking around in my intellectual attic. I have been thinking about my own behavior and actions, and how they have possibly (likely) contributed to the animosity in the stepmom/BM situation in my own life.

I won’t claim to have come up with all the answers, or that I’ve struck upon blazing enlightenment and devised perfect behavior to make everything all right. I am just going to be very honest and admit that I have allowed anger and resentment to lead me to thoughts, actions, and words that drew me into a swirl of negativity that I did not want.

It is hard to admit that all of the blame is not solely someone else’s! It would be easy to say, “Well, she did this or that, so it’s okay if I said this or that.” No, it’s not. Expressing my disappointment and desire for different behaviors is one thing. Admitting I am angry is one thing. Lowering myself to reactive cheap shots and negative comments is not who I want to be.

Maybe I’m getting old and mellow. Maybe I’m going soft. Or maybe I’m just getting wiser and more focused on what is best for the kids, where we all should have been focused all along.

What does this all mean? I’m not sure. All I know is what it means for me personally, and that is, I consider my love for Gary and for the kids to be worthy of much more than being buried beneath anger and desecrated by negativity. All I know is I have control over me, over my actions, and I want to be an example for the kids, even if they don’t realize it until years from now. I don’t want to mimic the very behaviors I have condemned in others. I’m embarrassed that I have, to any extent, but I have to face up to it in order to move on and do better.

I still strongly disagree with many decisions and behaviors in this situation. I am still worried about the kids and worried about the effects all of this will have on them. But I feel like the best thing I can do for them, and for Gary, is to admit to the role I’ve played in the hostility and negativity, and to no longer be a willing actor of that drama.

Of course it won’t mean much to anyone else if I am the only one involved to make that decision. But it will still mean a lot to me, to know I chose what is right and what is best and what is honest. To keep going down the road I’ve been on seems to only end in becoming what I have fought against in the first place.

*Photo courtesy of LOL Cats…who else?*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in anger, kids, love, regret. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thinking

  1. Samantha says:

    Good Luck!!🙂 I hope there can be peace!

  2. Mean Stepmom says:

    You’re not alone, sister. It’s not easy to overlook the bad parenting of the children I love. I want to protect them, but I can’t control anyone’s behavior but my own. So I smile, offer hugs to comfort and ears to listen, and I bite my tongue a lot (even if you can’t tell it from my blog haha)

  3. Marmee says:

    What an inspirational post. You are a lovely and admirable person!

  4. Heather says:

    Wow, this was great to read! It reminded me of so many things, most profoundly that I can only control my actions. I’ve realized so many times that it is easy to react when someone else is behaving badly, but that doesn’t make the reaction right.One thing I struggle with is the question, at what point is my indignation justified and I get to react in the interest of my child? What is the best way to react? I have found that is almost impossible to determine until you are well after the moment and have 20/20 hindsight.Good luck in pursuing this change! I think it will benefit the kids enormously in the long run, and more importantly, you as well.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

