More

The more I am lied to, the more truth I see in contrast.

The more I am insulted, the more I recognize my value and my worth…no one attempts to tear down that which is already nothing.

The harder and more viciously that they claw at me, the more I discover my hidden strength. And their fear.

The more I am gossiped about, bantered about, held up for inspection, and followed about, the more empathy I feel for individuals whose souls are hollow and whose minds are stagnant. I pray I never become like that. It is painful to watch another human brewing in the rotted mess of their own lies.

The more the kids are lied to, the more I want to protect them…sometimes from the very ones whose job description it is to help protect them, to be trustworthy.

The more certain people reveal their true colors…the more afraid I am for the kids, and their hearts, and their minds. I pray that they too choose to rise above the path that others around them have chosen.

*Transcendence artwork courtesy of Carole Skinner*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in growth, heart, kids, transcendence. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More

  1. The harder and more viciously that they claw at me, the more I discover my hidden strength. And their fear. < ---- this is one of my favorites :) These are all great though. Thanks for putting these up.

  2. -d says:

    I don’t know the situation but the truth is… no one wins when you try to demoralize a person or situation. There are only winners when we go to build each other up.It sucks that the world doesn’t get this.-d

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    I am trying to recognize my contribution to the situation and make changes where I need to, which is a very humbling and uncomfortable process! Being protective of those being hurt makes it even more difficult.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

