Birth Announcement

A gorgeous morning, cool, beautiful, and even in my barely-awake fog as I stepped outside today, I had to smile at the promise of change in the air. I wandered along the fence to water the vinca and the allamanda vines I planted over the weekend, and I stopped to take a closer look at the morning glory vines that have been struggling to wind their way up the fence.

I had almost given up on all of them. Not long after the vine at the porch railing started to take off, we were deluged with rain, and the plant didn’t take kindly to being water-logged. I was disappointed to have to remove the vine from the porch railing; it looked ragged, grayed out, awful. The vines at the fence were growing so slowly, I almost forgot about them, until this morning.

Lifting its proud little head this morning in the cool early air was a tiny flower bud, tucked protectively beneath a leaf, and I was so excited to see it. I grew these vines from seed, and they have all struggled in the more-sand-than-soil, nutrient-less dirt of my yard, fought gnawing bugs and curious cats, and just when I thought “forget it”, here was a sweet victory flower.

I had planted both purple and blue vines at the fence, so I won’t know which color the flower will be until it opens a bit more. It was too dark to take a picture of it this morning, but once it opens, I will post a “baby” picture!

The photo for this post is from Pbase.com, on a page called June 2007 Gardens. There are some breath-taking and simply gorgeous pictures there, roses, Queen Anne’s Lace, honeysuckle, you name it. Work can wait! Go take a virtual garden break for now.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in beauty, flowers, garden, morning glory. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birth Announcement

  1. furiousBall says:

    very impressive. i need to get to work on my yard!

  2. Dijea says:

    YEA!! I love to garden and when you nuture something and see it flower its awesome.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

