Change

On a bulletin board at work, someone wrote in huge letters: “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.”– Mohandas Gandhi

I walk by these words several times a day, rushing past on my way to someone else’s office, to drop off reports, to take care of everyday tasks that distracted me from really thinking about this quote until today.

I am quick to diagnose what needs to change in the world. I pursued Community Psychology instead of clinical because I feel strongly that changes need to take place on a societal level, and treating an individual as if they are the lone actor in a sick environment is simply not the most effective or efficient way to go about it.

My biggest wish is that more people asked themselves, “why?” Why do you think what you do? Why do you believe the things you believe? Why does something hurt you, anger you, or make you happy?

I question to the point of driving others nuts, but I have found more self-awareness in constantly pushing past snap judgments or assumptions and digging up the roots. I have strong beliefs, because I have questioned them sideways, backwards, forward, and upside down.

What are the other changes I wish to see in this world? Critical thinking. Compassion. Taking responsibility. Valuing diversity. Recognizing that, if given the chance, most of our differences would likely play out to complement each other if they weren’t placed on scales and ranked, rewarded or condemned, based on current social power. Honesty. Common sense. The removal of blinders, crutches, and excuses that allow people to hurt others yet call it something else.

The making of such a list is the making of a to-do list for myself, then.

What is the change you wish to see in the world?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in change, Gandhi, psychology, quotes, self, society. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Change

  1. I have a very similiar list. I believe basic respect for others is a quality in people that’s becoming extinct. People rationalize away why they shouldn’t extend basic respect towards another, even someone they don’t like.There was a saying in the movie “Troy” that rang true for me between the characters Priam and Achilles:Achilles: You’re still my enemy in the morning. Priam: You’re still my enemy tonight. *But even enemies can show respect.*I would like to see more of this quality in people because, in my opinion, it shows true character. You don’t have to like someone but you should extend basic respect and courtesy…not ostentatious behavior but genuine respect for others right to boundaries and to a good quality of life.

  2. Samantha says:

    I wish more people would become listeners.Everytime I speak with someone I feel they are just calculating their next sentence.Sometimes, I believe, it is OK to listen, and not have a snappy comment…of course I adore snappy comments in blogs! LOL

  3. macocha says:

    Personal accountability! A must. finger pointing has got to go!

  4. phairhead says:

    celebrating or at least understanding our differences. Just ’cause the teenage boy at the local target is wearing eyeliner doesn’t make him gay or on drugs.

  5. Stephanie says:

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. And I also agree with the commenter that listed personal accountability.I wish we could all take time to listen to each other’s perspective, and gain insight from that perspective whether we agree or not… politics, religion, etc. We don’t have to be enemies because we don’t agree. That’s what I’d like to see.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

