Confessions of a Hockey Slacker

In case you have felt lately that something is missing…something is off…something just slightly off-kilter on my blog…you were right! I have not mentioned hockey in many moons. Well, I’m about to remedy that situation.

But first, I have a confession to make. It may really hurt, so brace yourself if you are a fellow hockey fan.

Here it is: I didn’t even realize until today that the Tampa Bay Lightning have already played three preseason games. I haven’t checked NHL.com in so long, the Favorites link was dusty. And I still haven’t pulled down my hockey jerseys from the closet shelf.

I know, I know…I am terribly ashamed. What kind of hockey fan blithely stumbles through life, not knowing the games have already begun?

OK, onto the hockey talk. Surprisingly, the Lightning have won 2 of those 3 preseason games, beating the Pittsburgh Penguins and the New York Rangers. They play New York again tonight.

The main reason I have missed these games is that I never watch TV. Without Gary or the kids at home, the TV is never on, so there’s no one to flip through the channels until my ears, no matter where I am (even outside) pick up the unmistakable and delightful sounds of a hockey game, kicking me into alert status and causing “What’s the score?” to automatically burst out of my mouth.

A quick perusal of the team rosterwho? Who the heck is that guy?

I have a lot of homework to do.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in hockey, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Confessions of a Hockey Slacker

  1. again great blog- commented on your lipstick graffiti. thanks for commenting on my beauty be good- and yes- cleo is slowly but surely getting used to another kitten. lol! love both of your bogs i am putting both under my blogs i adore on my blog! have a great day

  2. Dijea says:

    The Stars play Colorado tonight. I hadn’t realized it started yet either. I’m slacking off myself. Bad Hockey Fan! **slapping wrist**

  3. macocha says:

    hockey is not my sport – sorry – cannot get into it! 🙂

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    “Hockey” and “cannot get into it”…*puzzled look* These words, in combination, I cannot comprehend…🙂

  5. cant get into hockey? *head tilt* I..dont..understand???? Dallas lost to the freakin Avs tonight. Ugh. We have 3 more pre-season games to play I think before we open the regular season on Oct 6. I’m so ready!!

  6. 91 Stamkos, Steven watch this kid…. this was a big grab for ya’ll… BIG. I almost nabbed him for my fantasy team but just as I said “oooh I’m gonna get Stamkos!” my friggin bf grabbed him! BASTARD! lol All is fair in love, war and fantasy hockey though 🙂

  7. furiousBall says:

    i really hope Koci sticks with the team, he’s a tough kid

  8. macocha says:

    chuckle…We don’t have a hockey team here (I don’t think)…hee hee!

  9. OMG thats my Smitty in goal in that picture… *sobbing* oh how I miss my Smitty!!!!!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

