Morning Glory, part 2

This morning the first morning glory bud was wide open, so I snapped this shot with my cell phone camera. I love the color, a deep, rich purple, with a gentle pink center. There are tiny flower buds on another vine, and I hope they are blue flowers; I imagined a mix of color on the fence. The purple ones sprouted faster, grew faster, and hung tougher than the packet of blue morning glory, though, so I suspect these are purple too!

To me, this is the most beautiful flower in the world today. These little seeds fought hard to survive in sandy, desert-like dirt; were pounded by hurricane-style rains for days when they had just been transplanted from the seed-starter pot to the ground; tolerated the days I forgot to water them; let me coax them up the fence when they wanted to run along the ground; and just to show me they knew what they were doing all along, burst out with this flower just as I was ready to give up.

“The earth laughs in flowers.”E.E. Cummings

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, morning glory. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Morning Glory, part 2

  1. Yay! It’s so pretty!I love that quote. It’s simply wonderful.

  2. furiousBall says:

    i think it looks like Grimace’s butthole

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    I bet you say that to all the girls, you hopeless, dreamy romantic!

  4. kimberlina says:

    it’s beautiful!! congrats!!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

