Let’s Get This Hockey Season Started

Yahoo! Sports made this prediction for the Tampa Bay Lightning: “With all the changes and acquired talent, the Lightning are all but guaranteed to not finish in last place this season.”

Translation: “The Lightning will be hard-pressed to suck as much this year as they did last year. You have to try to play that bad.”

Coming from a football family, I’m not clear exactly what turned me onto hockey, but I have loved it ever since I was little. The only time I came alive and stopped pretending the sun was in my eyes during gym class was when they broke out the cheap, plastic hockey sticks and let us slug it out for half an hour. (Perhaps the “no checking” rule should have been spelled out clearly before play began, however. How was I to know? Seems to me you pick up a hockey stick, you implicitly sign a waiver, eh?)

I actually prefer minor league and college games over NHL games. The players seem more intense, more in love with hockey as a sport, not as a fat paycheck and slick photo op. Also, I get to sit much closer to the rink, so my sideline coaching is more audible to the coaching staff, who I am certain genuinely appreciate the input. They appreciate it so much, in fact, that they alert security to my ideas!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in hockey, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Get This Hockey Season Started

  1. furiousBall says:

    I’m 100% with you, can’t wait for the season to start. I’m going to see my Flyers beat the snot out of the Sharks

  2. Dijea says:

    The bad boys, that’s what turned you on to hockey. Every woman loves a bad boy and there are plenty in the NHL. They have nice butts too.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

