I Must Have This Plant

This morning I had a pleasant surprise when I stepped outside to water the plants on my porch. Another morning glory vine has begun to flower on the fence, and the flowers are blue! So far every bud that has opened has been purple, even though I planted both colors along the fence. The blue flowers are much larger than the purple ones. As much as those poor plants have struggled, thanks to sand and spider mites, each flower is like a little victory.

There is a garden at work, and in the center is a tee-pee shaped trellis with a gorgeous, thick, purple-hued vine scrambling all over it and even spreading across the ground. I asked what it was and found out it is hyacinth bean:

I borrowed this photo from Rustic Girls, but the vine at work has the same exploding look to it. I love plants that look out of control and like they will take over if given the chance! (Not surprisingly, ivy is one of my favorite plants.)

I must have this plant. It is just beautiful. Watch out if you are at any garden centers this weekend, because I am a woman on a mission!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in gardening, hyacinth bean, morning glory, plants. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Must Have This Plant

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

