Tiiiiiiick……tocccccck…..

A funny thing happened once we knew a specific day that Gary is coming home: time completely, absolutely, maddeningly came to a standstill and is inching along like that annoying putt-putting car in the passing lane that makes me drum my fingers on the steering wheel and wish I had a giant boot on my front bumper.

We’re down to about a month and a half. Sometimes I think of the time left and feel like the day will never arrive. Other times I feel rushed, realizing all the things I had planned to do, hoped to do, before he got home, before the kids are here. They are things that, really, only I will care about: refinishing the porch swing, repairing the fish pond, repainting the bathroom, decorative projects that no one will worry about anyway except me. I sincerely doubt the kids will burst into the house, take a critical look around, and pronounce, “This is unacceptable, Smirking Cat. I fully expected a fresh coat of sponge painting in this place”, marching off in a disgusted huff.

Still, throwing myself into projects has helped pass the time, has helped me keep my focus on moving forward instead of trapping myself in wishing time away. I am determined to use this as momentum to do better, to learn, to grow. Gary coming home is a new beginning and a new start, but only if we make it that way.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Gary, home, kids, time. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tiiiiiiick……tocccccck…..

  1. furiousBall says:

    i know what you’re going through for sure, i’m counting days until i see my kiddos and the stupid clock… i swear it’s broke

  2. Crys says:

    You’re right, new starts only happen if you effort is made into it. I can totally relate to how how waiting for a specific day to come seems to make the days go on looonger and looonger. Hang in there!

  3. It does stink how time slows down when you really wish it would speed up! Remember how long it took Christmas to arrive, especially after you started seeing decorations everywhere???

  4. I was going to mention Christmas as a child but NSNM beat me to it.When my husband deploys, I experience the same phenomenon. The time flies by faster the first couple of months and then the last month drags on and on at an unbearable pace.The key is to stay as busy as possible to keep your mind on something else. Eventually, he will be home so busy yourself with a project that truly interests to cover that span of time.

  5. Dijea says:

    You’ll never get it all done, but I’m so thrilled its a countdown.Why isn’t the countdown clock on your blog? That way we can all watch the clock for you.

  6. Smirking Cat says:

    There’s a countdown clock way at the bottom of the page. I couldn’t find a nice one that fits in the sidebar. I’ll move it up so everyone can see it.

  7. kimberlina says:

    that’s so wonderful, sc! it’s funny how time flies, or stops short.you know… you really should show us some pics of your fish pond. it sounds intriguing!

  8. Smirking Cat says:

    Hey Kim, the fish pond is in a sad, sad state right now! I will share pics once it’s fixed. The person who moved out attempted to tear it down, apparently, and mangled the liner in the process. I tore out the plants that were around it because they were run over with weeds. It needs a lot of work! I have no idea how the fish are still alive. I check their water level every few days and feed them, and they’ve gotten used enough to me that they will come to the surface for food. I’d really like to give them a prettier home than their semi-demolished pond!

  9. I can just see you running to him! I’m so excited for your anticipated reunion! Seriously makes me want to cry just thinkin’ about it!!

  10. KiKi says:

    He’s coming home in a month and a half? WOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!!!!!!!! I am so happy for you guys – I’ve been away for a while and it’s so good to come back to such good news!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

