Monday Already?

Blame it on the sunshine, the cooler weather, the absolutely beautiful day we had yesterday, but yes, I found myself lured back to the garden center yesterday, despite the knowledge that my yard is the Bermuda Triangle of gardens, where plants disappear almost instantaneously into the moisture-less sand without a trace. Marching zombie-like, intoning, “Must buy plants…must buy plants…”, I plowed through Lowe’s on a mission and ended up on my front porch moments later with a flat of hot pink petunias and a vow to water them twice a day if I need to.

I spent part of the late afternoon in the yard, with Crybaby (the outdoor cat) following me around, investigating each plant before it went into the ground, and wondering why I was fussing with dirt when I could be scratching her ears. I wondered how big each plant would grow before Gary came home to see them, or how each plant would fare with four energetic little kids chasing their father through the yard. I’m willing to sacrifice a few flowers to watch that again.

When I visited Gary on Saturday, he told me one of the guards asked him, “So, are you looking forward to going home?” When Gary told him yes, the guard joked, “What, you don’t like my company?” Gary said, “I wouldn’t exactly give it five stars”, and he and a few guards ended up joking around about the ammenities of the jail, like room service. I had to laugh as he told me this. Gary, apparently, can make friends with damn near anyone.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in gardening, Gary, kids, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday Already?

  1. Dijea says:

    Happy Monday! I love playing in the yard and its even better when you have company.

  2. Crys says:

    I must say, I’m pretty proud of myself. My orchid plants (inside) is still alive almost two weeks later. I hope that your pretty petunias work out! That’s weird that they disappear like that. Is there a pile of them in a hold somewhere?

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    The plants “disappear” for several reasons: the dry, completely nutrient-less dirt that poses as soil; the neighborhood cats who curl up and take naps in my flower beds; and a lack of a good garden center around here. The plants are pretty weak to start with. I’ve seen spider mites and mealy bugs on the plants at Walmart, Lowe’s, and Home Depot, but in small towns, there aren’t many more options.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

